Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency - People and Remuneration Committee
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

People and Remuneration Committee

The People and Remuneration Committee is established to provide governance oversight of strategy and performance in relation to people, capability and culture within the scheme.

Its key focus areas are:

  1. capability and culture
  2. diversity and inclusion
  3. health safety and wellbeing
  4. strategic workforce planning, and
  5. remuneration and performance management framework for the CEO and senior managers on individual contracts.

The Committee is chaired by Ms Gill Callister PSM.

Document name PDF Accessible format Document date
People and Remuneration Committee Charter PDF (111KB) Word version (120 KB,DOCX) November 2023
PARC annual reports
PARC annual report 2022-23 PDF (133 KB) Word version (111 KB,DOCX) November 2023
PARC annual report 2021-22 PDF (126 KB) Word version (89 KB,DOCX) November 2022
PARC annual report 2020-21 PDF (125KB) Word version (85.5KB DOCX) November 2021

For further information about the Ahpra Board or its committees, email [email protected].


Gill Callister

Ms Gill Callister PSM

Ms Gill Callister was appointed to the Ahpra Board as new Chair and member with expertise in education and training in July 2019 and reappointed for a second term in July 2023. Ms Callister is CEO of Mind Australia, a community-based mental health organisation with a long tradition of working with people with serious mental illness. She has dedicated her career to improving public policy and service delivery, particularly for vulnerable people in the community, and was recognised with a Public Service Medal in 2019. Ms Callister holds Bachelor degrees in Social Work (with Honours) and Arts.

Other appointments.

Profile photo of Carmen Parter

Honorary Associate Professor Carmen Parter

Honorary Associate Professor Carmen Parter, Macquarie University, is appointed as a member with expertise in health. She was appointed on 15 July 2022. She is a former Registered Nurse and Registered Midwife with extensive experience in the health industry working as a woman’s health practitioner, educator, health services researcher, policy maker, manager of project teams and senior executive leader. She is a researcher and author presently working at the University of Queensland Poche Centre for Indigenous Health (part-time) who was awarded an international award in recognition of her scholarship working with community. Carmen was the inaugural Co-chair of the Indigenous Working Group of the World Federation of Public Health Association, a member of the Lowitja Institute member community, Fellow of the CATSINaM and an ambassador for the MK Study. She is presently setting up a foundation to invest in community to help solve ‘wicked’ issues that apply system change inquiry methods.

Dr Murray Thomas

Dr Murray Thomas

Chair of the Dental Board of Australia

Dr Thomas is a full-time general dentist providing care in the south eastern suburb of Chisholm in Canberra for the last 20 years. He holds a Bachelor of Dental Science (QLD) and a Diploma in Dental Health (QLD).

Upon graduation he embarked on a career in the Australian Regular Army and retired from the Army to private practice in 2000. During his career in the military he worked as a dental officer and in a number Defence Health staff officer positions including Head of Corps for the Royal Australian Army Dental Corps.

He has served as a Director and Councillor of the Australian Dental Council and has had active involvement with the Australian Dental Association (ADA) committees, particularly the ADA NSW Branch as a Director and Councillor and serving as part of the of its executive team.

He has been a champion of accreditation of dental practices since 2008 and has a long association with the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care through working parties for the development of a Dental Guide to the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards and Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard

He is a Fellow of the Pierre Fauchard Academy and the International College of Dentists and is a recipient of the ADA (NSW) Service Medallion

He is currently a member of the ACT Clinical Council and has been involved with dental practitioner regulation in the ACT since 2005, was appointed to the Dental Board of Australia as a practitioner member in 2012 and recently was reappointed as Chair of the Dental Board of Australia in October 2018.

Dr Wayne Minter AM

Dr Wayne Minter AM

Chair of the Chiropractic Board of Australia

  • B.Ec. (ANU), B.App.Sc.(Chiro), PG Dip. (NMS Rehabilitation), FICC.

Dr Wayne Minter AM is the Director of the Frenchs Forest Chiropractic Centre, President of the Chiropractic Council of New South Wales and has been a chiropractor for over 40 years. Dr Minter was appointed as a member of the Chiropractic Board of Australia in November 2013 and Chair in September 2014.

Dr Minter has served professional and academic institutions in many capacities including being a member of the NSW Chiropractors Registration Board, Adjunct Professor in the School of Chiropractic and Sports Science, Murdoch University, and Chiropractic Adviser to the Australian Government Department of Veterans' Affairs.

Dr Minter was appointed Member of the Order of Australia in 2015 for significant service to chiropractic health, through education programs, clinical practice standards, and patient management.

Susie George

Ms Susie George

Susie is currently the Regional General Manager North for TAFE NSW. This role oversees over 35 campuses from Central Coast to Kingscliff; leading Quality Learning Outcomes, Driving the Customer Experience, Engagement with Employers, Community and Industry in the Region.

Ms George has in the past been a Commercial and Strategic Business Leader with extensive expertise in Group Human Resources (HR) roles. Her leadership in this area has been across a start-up business, complex integrations, acquisitions, culture transformations and significant change projects. Susie is passionate about understanding the business strategy and customer needs; and ensuring people and culture plans underpin its success. Areas of expertise include:

  • Strategy Development and Strategic Alignment
  • Culture Transformations
  • Change Management and Stakeholder Engagement
  • Organisational Design and Restructuring
  • Leadership Performance, Talent Management, Recruitment
  • Complex Industrial and Employment Relations

Ms George has been appointed to the People and Remuneration Committee as an independent member.

Ms Leanne  O'Shannessy PSM

Ms Leanne O’Shannessy PSM

Ms O’Shannessy was appointed as a member with expertise in business and administration in November 2023. Ms O’Shannessy is currently General Counsel for NSW Health. She has led major regulatory reforms including establishment of the NSW Health Care Complaints Commission and NSW health privacy. Ms O’Shannessy has extensive experience in health regulation and compliance at both a policy and operational level with expertise in legislation, governance, and risk.

Page reviewed 5/12/2023