Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency - Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee

The Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee (FARMC) is responsible to the Ahpra Board for the oversight of risk and to provide advice on the effectiveness of the corporate assurance framework and risk management, financial strategy, sustainability and internal audit functions. The Committee also provides oversight of the external audit process.

The specific responsibilities of the Committee are to provide advice on:

  • The appropriateness of the financial strategy to ensure the financial sustainability of Ahpra and the National Boards, taking into account the National Law and the policy and directions of the Ministerial Council.
  • The adequacy and effectiveness of the approach to corporate assurance, encompassing the processes of governance, risk management, compliance and the internal control environment to ensure the processes operate as intended and are in line with leading practice.
  • The adequacy and effectiveness of internal processes and controls for ensuring compliance with statutory and regulatory requirements, codes of conduct and reasonable community expectations.
  • The adoption of an annual and strategic audit internal plan and any significant issues that arise out of internal audit activities.
  • The annual financial statements for recommendation to the Ahpra Board.

The Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee is chaired by Ms Barbara Yeoh AM member of the Ahpra Board.

Document title PDF Accessible format Document date
Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee charter PDF 
(139 KB)
Word version
(234 KB,DOCX)
November 2023
Investment policy PDF
(225 KB) 
Word version 
(81.6 KB,DOCX) 
December 2021
Internal Audit Charter PDF
(328 KB)
Word version 
(207 KB,DOCX)  
October 2021
FARMC annual reports
FARMC annual report 2022-23 PDF (249 KB)

Word version 
(133 KB,DOCX)

4 December 2023
FARMC annual report 2021-22  PDF (248 KB) Word version
(132 KB,DOCX)
2 November 2022
FARMC annual report 2020-21 PDF (268 KB)
Word version 
(125 KB,DOCX)

16 November 2021
FARMC annual report 2019-20 PDF (274KB) Word version
(155 KB,DOCX)
8 December 2020
FARMC annual report 2018-19 PDF (241KB) Word version
(125 KB,DOCX)
6 March 2020 
FARMC annual report 2017-18 PDF (108KB) Word version  
(657 KB, DOC)
15 October 2019
FARMC annual report 2016-17 PDF (194KB) Word version 
(655 KB,DOCX)
20 November 2017 
FARMC annual report 2015-16 PDF (147KB)  Word version 
(660 KB,DOCX)
24 November 2016
FARMC annual report 2014-15 PDF (145KB) Word version 
(637 KB,DOCX)
9 Nov 2015

For further information about the Ahpra Board or its committees, email [email protected]


Picture of Barbara Yeoh.

Ms Barbara Yeoh AM

Ms Yeoh is currently serving her third term as a member with expertise in health, education and training from 1 October 2020. She is a Director of the Victorian State Emergency Service Authority and previously served on the Board of Monash Health, Austin Health and Eastern Health in Victoria. She has over 25 years’ experience across a range of public and private sector agencies including in the health, education, finance, insurance, transport, technology and infrastructure sectors. Ms Yeoh has previously served as a Council Member and Deputy Chancellor at Latrobe University.

Other appointments.

David Balcombe.

Mr David Balcombe

Mr Balcombe brings to the Committee considerable experience is accounting, audit and risk management gained during an extensive career at Ernst & Young, as a Partner. He was responsible for quality and risk management in that Firm’s Oceania area before moving to similar roles in the Asia Pacific area where his responsibilities covered much of South East Asia and China. He was also was involved in audit, corporate advisory, internal audit outsourcing and related roles where he served clients in a broad range of industries including government, manufacturing, retail and distribution.

Mr Balcombe is currently a Financial Counsellor with a not-for profit community organisation.

He holds a Bachelors’ Degree in Commerce, is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia & New Zealand and a Registered Company Auditor.

He joined the Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee as a member with expertise in accounting and audit and risk management, his term will expire on 31 May 2023.

Photo of Kim Jones

Ms Kim Jones

Kim Jones is an independent non-executive director with experience in industry sectors including financial services, global asset management, institutional funds management, superannuation, health, youth and education. During her executive career, Kim was a superannuation trustee, investor relations, marketing and communications specialist with ASX100 institutional fund managers and financial services companies: Colonial First State Global Asset Management, Colonial First State Property (subsidiaries of Commonwealth Bank) and Lend Lease. The earlier part of her career was spent as a marine scientist and teacher, and promoting new technology at the University of New South Wales.

Kim is currently a community member on the Dental Board of Australia and Chair of Hear For You (a charity, registered with ACNC and ASIC, that empowers deaf and hard of hearing teenagers).

Kim holds an Honours Degree in Science from the University of Sydney, a graduate Diploma of Education and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Profile photo of Lynton Norris

Mr Lynton Norris

Mr Norris was appointed to the Ahpra Board as a member with expertise in health, business and administration from 20 September 2020.  Mr Norris is a member of the Alfred Health Board and has over 20 years’ experience in the private and government sectors. He was the former Chief Executive Officer of the National Health Funding Body and implemented national health reforms including the establishment of Activity Based Funding governance and grant payment system to all hospital networks. Mr Norris has a strong background in policy development and implementation and compliance and performance reporting. Mr Norris is a Fellow Certified Practising Accountant and a graduate member of the Australian of Institute of Company Directors.

Anthony Evans

Anthony Evans

Anthony Evans has extensive financial and general management experience as a senior executive and a board director in the health, aged care, education, resources and not-for-profit sectors. His non-executive director roles in the health sector have included being a board member of Perth Primary Care Network and Therapeutic Guidelines Ltd.

Anthony is currently a community member of the Optometry Board of Australia. He holds a Bachelor of Business and is a Fellow of CPA Australia, the Governance Institute of Australia and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ms Leanne  O'Shannessy PSM

Ms Leanne O’Shannessy PSM

Ms O’Shannessy was appointed as a member with expertise in business and administration in November 2023. Ms O’Shannessy is currently General Counsel for NSW Health. She has led major regulatory reforms including establishment of the NSW Health Care Complaints Commission and NSW health privacy. Ms O’Shannessy has extensive experience in health regulation and compliance at both a policy and operational level with expertise in legislation, governance, and risk.

Page reviewed 4/12/2023