Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee

The Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee (FARMC) is responsible to the Agency Management Committee for the oversight of risk and to provide advice on the effectiveness of the corporate assurance framework and risk management, financial strategy, sustainability and internal audit functions. The Committee also provides oversight of the external audit process.

The specific responsibilities of the Committee are to provide advice on:

  • The appropriateness of the financial strategy to ensure the financial sustainability of AHPRA and the National Boards, taking into account the National Law and the policy and directions of the Ministerial Council.
  • The adequacy and effectiveness of the approach to corporate assurance, encompassing the processes of governance, risk management, compliance and the internal control environment to ensure the processes operate as intended and are in line with leading practice.
  • The adequacy and effectiveness of internal processes and controls for ensuring compliance with statutory and regulatory requirements, codes of conduct and reasonable community expectations.
  • The adoption of an annual and strategic audit internal plan and any significant issues that arise out of internal audit activities.
  • The annual financial statements for recommendation to the Agency Management Committee.

The Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee is chaired by Ms Barbara Yeoh AM member of the Agency Management Committee.

Document title PDF Accessible format Document date
Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee charter PDF (139KB) Word version 
(570 KB,DOCX)
September 2020
Investment policy PDF (53.0KB) Word version 
(907 KB,DOCX)
5 July 2019
Internal audit terms of reference PDF (140KB) Word version
(74.0 KB,DOCX)
28 May 2015
FARMC annual reports
FARMC annual report 2014-15 PDF (145KB) Word version 
(637 KB,DOCX)
9 Nov 2015
FARMC annual report 2015-16 PDF (147KB)  Word version 
(660 KB,DOCX)
24 November 2016
FARMC annual report 2016-17 PDF (194KB) Word version 
(655 KB,DOCX)
20 November 2017 
FARMC annual report 2017-18 PDF (108KB) Word version  
(657 KB, DOC)
15 October 2019
FARMC annual report 2018-19 PDF (241KB) Word version
(125 KB,DOCX)
6 March 2020 
FARMC annual report 2019-20 PDF (274KB) Word version
(155 KB,DOCX)
8 December 2020

For further information about the Agency Management Committee or its committees, email


Picture of Barbara Yeoh.

Ms Barbara Yeoh AM

Ms Yeoh joined the Agency Management Committee in 2017 as a member with expertise in health, education and training and was re-appointed in 15 June 2017 for her second three year term to 15 June 2020.

She has previously served on the Board of Austin Health and Eastern Health in Victoria. With a career in the finance sector, she has over 30 years’ experience as a director across a range of public and private sector agencies including in the health, education, finance, insurance, transport, technology and infrastructure sectors. In 2015, Ms Yeoh was inducted into the Victorian Honour Roll of Women and received the CEO Magazine Chairperson of the Year award which encompasses the public, private and not for profit sectors.

Ms Yeoh has previously served as a Council Member and Deputy Chancellor at Latrobe University.

Other appointments.

David Balcombe.

Mr David Balcombe

Mr Balcombe brings to the Committee considerable experience is accounting, audit and risk management gained during an extensive career at Ernst & Young, as a Partner. He was responsible for quality and risk management in that Firm’s Oceania area before moving to similar roles in the Asia Pacific area where his responsibilities covered much of South East Asia and China. He was also was involved in audit, corporate advisory, internal audit outsourcing and related roles where he served clients in a broad range of industries including government, manufacturing, retail and distribution.

Mr Balcombe is currently a Financial Counsellor with a not-for profit community organisation.

He holds a Bachelors’ Degree in Commerce, is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia & New Zealand and a Registered Company Auditor.

He joined the Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee as a member with expertise in accounting and audit and risk management, his term will expire on 31 May 2023.

Picture of Jenny Taing.

Ms Jenny Taing OAM

Ms Taing is currently serving her second third term as a member with expertise in business and administration from 15 June 2017 1 October 2020. She is currently working as Special Counsel at Hive Legal. She was previously a board director of the Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital, the Royal District Nursing Service and Channel 31. Ms Taing has also previously served as a Commissioner at the Victorian Multicultural Commission. Ms Taing holds a Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Laws (Honours) from the University of Melbourne and was admitted to the Supreme Court of Victoria in 2008. She is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Ms Taing is the Deputy Chair of the Western Bulldogs Community Foundation and a member of the Western Bulldogs Football Club Ethics and Integrity Committee. 

Other appointments.

Photo of Kim Jones

Ms Kim Jones

Kim Jones is an independent non-executive director with experience in industry sectors including financial services, global asset management, institutional funds management, superannuation, health, youth and education. During her executive career, Kim was a superannuation trustee, investor relations, marketing and communications specialist with ASX100 institutional fund managers and financial services companies: Colonial First State Global Asset Management, Colonial First State Property (subsidiaries of Commonwealth Bank) and Lend Lease. The earlier part of her career was spent as a marine scientist and teacher, and promoting new technology at the University of New South Wales.

Kim is currently a community member on the Dental Board of Australia and Chair of Hear For You (a charity, registered with ACNC and ASIC, that empowers deaf and hard of hearing teenagers).

Kim holds an Honours Degree in Science from the University of Sydney, a graduate Diploma of Education and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Photo of Lynton Morris

Mr Lynton Norris

Mr Norris is appointed to the Agency Management Committee as a new member with expertise in health, business and administration from 20 September 2020.  Mr Norris is a member of the Alfred Health Board and has over 20 years’ experience in the private and government sectors. He was the former Chief Executive Officer of the National Health Funding Body and implemented national health reforms including the establishment of Activity Based Funding governance and grant payment system to all hospital networks. Mr Norris has a strong background in policy development and implementation and compliance and performance reporting. Mr Norris is a Fellow Certified Practising Accountant and a graduate member of the Australian of Institute of Company Directors.

Anthony Evans

Anthony Evans

Anthony Evans has extensive financial and general management experience as a senior executive and a board director in the health, aged care, education, resources and not-for-profit sectors. His non-executive director roles in the health sector have included being a board member of Perth Primary Care Network and Therapeutic Guidelines Ltd.

Anthony is currently a community member of the Optometry Board of Australia. He holds a Bachelor of Business and is a Fellow of CPA Australia, the Governance Institute of Australia and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Page reviewed 13/09/2021