Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency - Registration Standards
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

Registration Standards

Registration standards define the requirements that applicants and registrants need to meet to be registered.

The 16 health professions regulated under the National Scheme each have five core registration standards (described below). These standards are an important part of regulation for each profession.

The registration standards bring consistency across Australia, make the Boards’ requirements clear, and inform decision-making when concerns are raised about practitioners’ conduct, health or performance.

Common registration standards

Whenever possible, National Boards seek to work together to develop common or similar standards across professions.

Profession-specific registration standards

Under Section 38 of the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law as in force in each state and territory, each Health Practice Board of Australia must develop and recommend to Ministerial Council core registration standards. National Boards may also develop and recommend standards about other matters including any other matter relevant to the eligibility of individuals for registration in the profession.

To view the registration standard for each Board, click on the links below:

Codes and guidelines

Each National Board also publishes codes and guidelines to provide guidance to health practitioners in the application of the registration standards. Access this information via our National Board’s Codes and guidelines page.

Page reviewed 10/05/2023