Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency - New independent accreditation committee established
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

New independent accreditation committee established

11 Aug 2021

A new independent accreditation committee has been established by the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (Ahpra) in line with Health Ministers’ policy direction issued earlier this year and as a key element of Health Ministers’ response to the Independent Review of Accreditation Systems Final Report.

The broad stakeholder membership of the committee will bring a wide range of perspectives to the new committee’s work, recognising the importance of professional and accreditation expertise as well as community, employer and education provider involvement.

Newly appointed committee chair, Professor Andrew Wilson welcomed the committee’s establishment.

‘I’m delighted to be chairing this committee which is responsible for providing independent and expert advice on accreditation systems reform and future directions to National Boards, Accreditation Authorities and Ahpra.’ Professor Wilson said.

‘Accreditation is a crucial part of the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme. I look forward to working with the committee to provide the best possible advice and to support the continued provision of high-quality education and training across the professions and sustain our health workforce into the future.’

Ms Gill Callister PSM, Chair of the Ahpra Agency Management Committee said she was looking forward to the committee progressing their important work.

‘Accreditation provides a framework for assuring that individuals seeking registration are suitably trained, qualified and competent to practise as health practitioners in Australia. Ms Callister said.

‘The new committee brings together a broad range of expertise that will help inform health practitioner education to support future workforce needs and protects the public,’ she said.

The committee’s terms of reference have been published on the Ahpra website.

Members have been appointed for a three-year term and have been drawn from categories identified by the Health Council, with the addition of a member who identifies as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander.

Committee members

  Appointed member
Independent Chair Professor Andrew Wilson, 
Co-Director, Menzies Centre for Health Policy and Economics; Co-Director, NHMRC Australian Prevention Partnership Centre (Sax Institute); Professor of Public Health, Sydney School of Public Health, University of Sydney; Chair, Australian Department of Health Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee 
An external accreditation/education expert (‘external’ means an individual who is not an office bearer, employee or agent of any national board, accreditation authority or Ahpra)  Professor Maree O’Keefe 
Clinical Professor, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, University of Adelaide; Australian Learning and Teaching Fellow; Principle Fellow Higher Education Academy (UK)

Nominee of the Australian Commission for Safety and Quality in Healthcare 

Dr Heather Buchan, 
Senior Medical Advisor, Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care 
Nominee of the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)  Dr Karen Treloar, 
Director, Engagement Group, TEQSA 
Nominee of Universities Australia  Professor Ian Wronski, 
Member, University Australia’s Health Professions Education Standing Group 
Nominee of the Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF) (2)  Ms Narelle Mills, 
Chair, Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum(HPACF)  and CEO, Australian Dental Council 
Professor Brian Jolly, 
Chair Medical Radiation Practice Accreditation Committee and Deputy Chair, HPACF; Conjoint Professor of Medical Education, University of Newcastle; Adjunct Professor, School of Rural Medicine, University of New England 
Ahpra Agency Management Committee members (2)  Mr Jeffrey Moffet 
Dr Susan Young
National Boards representatives (2) Adjunct Professor Veronica Casey AM, Chair, Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia 
Mr Brett Simmonds, Chair, Pharmacy Board of Australia and Co-Convenor, Forum of NRAS Chairs 
Member who identifies as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander (nominee of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Group)  Ms Alison Barnes, Wiradjuri woman 
Associate Lecturer, School of Nursing and Midwifery, Western Sydney University and Member, New South Wales Board of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia 
Jurisdictional representative  Ms Deb Frew, Director, Workforce Strategy & Culture, Workforce Planning & Talent Development, NSW Health 
Private healthcare employer (nominee of Australian Private Hospitals Association)  Ms Kay Leatherland, Education Manager, Adventist Healthcare 
Consumer/community member (nominee of Community Reference Group)  Dr Hamza Vayani, Member, Community Reference Group


For further information

Page reviewed 11/08/2021