Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency - Honour for AHPRA Agency Management Committee member
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

Honour for AHPRA Agency Management Committee member

30 Jan 2018

A member of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) Management Committee has been recognised in the Australia Day honours.

AHPRA congratulates Dr Peggy Brown, a member of AHPRA’s Agency Management Committee, who was awarded an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia in this year's Australia Day honours.

The honour was awarded for Dr Brown’s distinguished service to medical administration in the area of mental health through leadership roles at the state and national level in the discipline of psychiatry, education and healthcare standards.

Dr Brown joined the Agency Management Committee as a member with expertise in health, education and training and was appointed for a three year term from March 2016.

Dr Brown is a registered medical practitioner (psychiatrist) with over 30 years’ experience. She has held senior clinical and administrative positions in the Australian public health system including the position of Director-General of ACT Health from 2010 until 2015 and roles with the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists.

Dr Brown is a former Chair of the COAG Health Council (formerly the Australian Health Ministers’ Advisory Council) and is well-versed in the operational, legislative and policy aspects of the National Scheme1 for health professions including the work of National Boards and AHPRA.

AHPRA Agency Management Committee Chair Michael Gorton AM congratulated Dr Brown on her achievement and for her contribution to the community through her work with National Boards and AHPRA to make sure health practitioner regulation protects the public.

‘Our primary objective, working with 15 national health practitioner boards, is to ensure the protection of the public. Peggy has had a career working with the community and as a health practitioner to support a safer system of healthcare in Australia. I would like to congratulate Peggy on this recognition on behalf of her colleagues on the Committee, National Boards and AHPRA, we are delighted for her,’ Mr Gorton said.

1 National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (the National Scheme).
Page reviewed 30/01/2018