Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency - National regulation of paramedicine moves a step closer
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

National regulation of paramedicine moves a step closer

25 Oct 2017

The national regulation of paramedicine moves a step closer with the appointment of the first Paramedicine Board of Australia (the Board).

The Health Ministers made the announcement of the nine person board at the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Health Council meeting held on 19 October 2017.

Paramedicine will be the first new profession to be regulated under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (National Scheme) since 2012.

AHPRA CEO Martin Fletcher welcomed the Board and said he looked forward to working with them, under the leadership of Board Chair, Associate Professor, Stephen Gough ASM, to support the successful transition of paramedicine into the National Scheme.

‘Unlike the other professions regulated under the National Scheme, paramedics are not currently required to be registered in any state or territory, so national regulation will be a new phase for the profession. Fortunately, there are a variety of skills and experience within the Board and AHPRA to draw from to help paramedicine make a smooth transition into the scheme,’ Mr Fletcher said.

The six practitioner members of the board have diverse clinical and operational experience across multiple states and territories, including rural and regional areas in Western Australia and New South Wales. The three community members bring a community voice to the Board and have expertise in regional, metropolitan and Indigenous communities. Overall, members have a depth of leadership, regulatory, governance, business, legal and policy experience, as well as expertise in education, training and accreditation, quality of care and patient safety.

‘The National Scheme benefits from diversity on Boards, especially a variety of experience and different perspectives as part of the decision-making process,’ Mr Fletcher said.

Registration of paramedicine is due to commence from late 2018. Paramedics will be able to register once and practise anywhere in Australia. The title ‘paramedic’ will also become a ‘protected title’ – only people registered with the Board will be able to call themselves a paramedic.

Appointments to the Paramedicine Board of Australia

  • Associate Professor, Stephen Gough ASM1 as practitioner member from Queensland and National Board Chair
  • Ms Clare Beech as practitioner member from New South Wales
  • Mr Keith Driscoll ASM as practitioner member from South Australia
  • Associate Professor Ian Patrick ASM as practitioner member from Victoria
  • Miss Angela Wright as practitioner member from Western Australia
  • Mr Howard Wren ASM as practitioner member from a small jurisdiction, the Australian Capital Territory
  • Ms Carol Bennett as community member from the ACT
  • Mrs Jeanette Barker as community member from New South Wales
  • Ms Linda Renouf as community member from Queensland.

For more information

1 The Ambulance Service Medal is awarded for distinguished service by a member of an Australian ambulance service.

Page reviewed 25/10/2017