Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency - Honour for AHPRA Agency Management Committee member

Honour for AHPRA Agency Management Committee member

01 Feb 2017

A member of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) Management Committee has been recognised in the Australia Day honours.

AHPRA congratulates Ms Barbara Yeoh, a member of AHPRA’s Agency Management Committee who was awarded a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia in this year's Australia Day honours.

Ms Yeoh joined the Agency Management Committee as a member with expertise in health, education and training and was appointed for her first three year term to 11 April 2017. The honour was awarded for her significant service to public administration and to business, to community health care, and to transport organisations.

She has over 30 years’ experience as a director across a range of public and private sector agencies including in the health, education, finance, insurance, transport, technology and infrastructure sectors.

Ms Yeoh has also held a range of senior management appointments in the Victorian public sector.

AHPRA Agency Management Committee Chair Michael Gorton AM congratulated Ms Yeoh on her fantastic achievement and for her contribution to health practitioner regulation.

‘As regulators, our goal is to work with the community and health practitioners to support a safer system of healthcare in Australia, ensuring that patients receive the safest, most reliable care from regulated health professions across the continuum. Barbara has had a career where she has spoken up for safety and makes a great contribution as a member of the Agency Management Committee. I would like to congratulate her on this recognition on behalf of her colleagues on the Committee, National Boards and AHPRA.’

Page reviewed 1/02/2017