Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency - Health Ministers announce National Board appointments
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

Health Ministers announce National Board appointments

07 Jul 2015

Australia’s health ministers have announced appointments and reappointments of Chairs, practitioner members and community members to fill vacancies arising across 12 National Boards.

The vacancies are primarily a result of the three-year terms expiring for those appointed to National Boards by the Ministerial Council in 2012.

‘The three yearly appointment process is an opportunity for Australia’s health ministers to introduce new perspectives into Board decision making and retain the expertise of experienced board members,’ AHPRA CEO Martin Fletcher said.

‘We thank ministers for announcing the appointments now, ahead of the majority of new terms starting from 31 August, to support the transition for all Chairs and members.

‘The appointments by Ministerial Council will promote diversity in the membership of Boards given the diversity of the professions regulated, in terms of professional background, practice setting, as well as age, gender and location. The National Scheme benefits from diversity on Boards, a variety of experience and different views in the decision-making process,’ Mr Fletcher said.

Thirty-eight of the inaugural members of National Boards first appointed in 2009 have been reappointed for third terms in 2015.

Of special note is the reappointment of inaugural National Board Chairs, Dr Joanna Flynn AM (Medical Board), Dr John Lockwood AM (Dental Board), and Professor Brin Grenyer (Psychology Board) to Chair the boards for a third term.

Mr Fletcher congratulated all reappointed Chairs.‘This is a milestone for Dr Flynn, Dr Lockwood, and Professor Grenyer. The National Scheme and the regulation of health practitioners in this country will continue to benefit from retaining their considerable expertise for the coming three years,’ Mr Fletcher said.

Mr Fletcher also thanked retiring Board members (including two National Board Chairs) many of whom were first appointed as inaugural members in 2009.

‘In 2009 Mr Stephen Marty and Mr Colin Waldron were appointed as inaugural chairs of the Pharmacy Board of Australia and the Optometry Board of Australia, respectively. Their dedication and leadership over many years has helped make the National Scheme what it is today,’ Mr Fletcher said.

Mr Fletcher noted that Professor Constantine ‘Con’ Michael AO, inaugural Agency Management Committee member, has been appointed as a practitioner member from WA on the Medical Board of Australia and as such has tendered his resignation from the committee effective in August 2015.

‘Professor Michael’s energy and depth of knowledge of the National Scheme will be an asset to the Medical Board of Australia and AHPRA. I wish Professor Michael and all new, returning and retiring National Board members a smooth transition,’ Mr Fletcher said.

A full list of appointments is available in the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council communique from 6 July 2015.

For more information

  • For media enquiries: (03) 8708 9200

Download a PDF of this Media release - Health Ministers announce National Board appointments - 7 July 2015 (114 KB,PDF)

Page reviewed 7/07/2015