Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency - Media release
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

Media release

01 May 2014

Australia's health ministers have appointed Michael Gorton AM as Chair of the Agency Management Committee, a position he will hold until September 2015.

Ministers appoint Gorton to lead AHPRA Agency Management Committee

In renewing and expanding the Agency Management Committee, ministers appointed Mr Gorton as Chair, reappointed Professor Merrilyn Walton for three years to April 2017 and added three new members:

  • Barbara Yeoh, Chair, Monash Health
  • David Taylor, former Divisional Head, Business Banking, Bankwest Bank, and
  • Jenny Taing, Senior Lawyer, Australian Securities and Investments Commission.

Mr Gorton and Ms Walton were existing members of the committee, both appointed in March 2009 when it was established to guide the development of the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme.

Ministers recognised the quality of applicants to the committee and the valuable contribution of outgoing members Mr Peter Allen (Chair) and Professor Genevieve Gray, whose terms ended earlier this year.

More detail about the appointments and the new committee members are included in the communiqué of the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council.

Mr Gorton said his top three priorities during his term were to increase engagement with stakeholders, improve the experience of notifiers and use the opportunities provided by the three-year review to improve and strengthen the National Scheme.

“It’s a time of significant opportunity for the National Scheme as we move into the three year review, and I look forward to working closely with the CEO to bring out the best of the scheme for all Australians,” Mr Gorton said.

AHPRA CEO, Martin Fletcher, said the National Scheme would be strengthened by the appointments to the committee.

“The energy and depth of knowledge of committee members will be a real asset to AHPRA and National Boards as we participate in the review of the scheme and keep improving the way we regulate health practitioners, in the public interest,” Mr Fletcher said.

For more information

  • Lodge an online enquiry form
  • For registration enquiries: 1300 419 495 (within Australia) +61 3 8708 9001 (overseas callers)
  • For media enquiries: (03) 8708 9200

Download a PDF of this Media release - Ministers appoint Gorton to lead AHPRA Agency Management Committee - 1 May 2014 (209 KB,PDF)

Page reviewed 1/05/2014