Scheduled Medicines Expert Committee members

Professor Anne Tonkin, Chair

Anne Tonkin is a physician by training, specialising in clinical pharmacology, and has been involved with drug regulation at a national level for many years, including periods of membership of the Australian Drug Evaluation Committee, the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee, and the Complementary Medicines Advisory Committee. She still undertakes clinical evaluations of data for new drug registration applications, and for scheduling submissions. Until 2014, she was Professor in the Adelaide Medical School, was involved with curriculum development and assessment, and enjoyed lecturing and clinical teaching. She is the current Chair of the SA Medicines Advisory Committee and a member of the SA Medicines Evaluation Panel. She is a member of the SA Board of the Medical Board of Australia, and has been Chair since 2012, and is a member of the Medical Board of Australia. She has also served the Australian Medical Council in various roles in medical school and college accreditation over the past fifteen years. She continues part-time practice as a relieving general physician at the Royal Adelaide Hospital.

Ms Vanessa Brotto, core member

Vanessa Brotto is a nurse academic at Deakin University where she has worked for the past 17 years. During this time she has designed curricula and lectured extensively on medications/pharmacology in both the Bachelor of Nursing and Master of Nursing (Nurse Practitioner) degrees.

Vanessa works clinically as an intensive care nurse at a major metropolitan hospital and has been involved in medication related research with two large Victorian hospitals. Her research focus currently pertains to clinical governance and reporting of medication errors in acute care hospitals. She has been a reviewer for a number of Australian and International nursing journals and has contributed to numerous nursing and pharmacology textbooks as both writer and reviewer. Vanessa co-wrote Clinical Dosage Calculations for Australia and New Zealand which is now in its second edition.

Professor Lisa Nissen, core member

Dr Lisa Nissen is Professor and Head of the School of Clinical Sciences at Queensland University of Technology. She is an experienced pharmacy practitioner, researcher and educator having worked in hospital and community pharmacy in metropolitan and rural areas of Queensland. Her focus is on improving the Quality Use of Medicines in the wider community, across the health care continuum, with a focus on health service development and factors that influence the prescribing of medicines. She was a key clinical advisor for the development of the Australian Health Professionals Prescribing Pathway and the NPS prescribing competency framework. Lisa is a strong believer in the benefits multidisciplinary health care teams can bring to patient care and takes this passion into the classroom with a commitment to the development and implementation of innovative inter-professional education for health students. In recognition of her teaching contributions she was awarded National Awards for Teaching Excellence in 2008 and 2013. She has been acknowledged for her contributions to the pharmacy profession, being the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia Young Pharmacist of the Year in 2002 and Pharmacist of the Year in 2008. She is a Fellow of the Practicing Pharmacists Association of Hong Kong, the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia and the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia and one of Australia’s first credentialed Advanced Practice Pharmacists.

Ms Sarah Spagnardi, core member

Sarah is a registered pharmacist who has practised in variety of settings including community pharmacy, aged care consulting and medicines Information.

Sarah currently manages the NPS MedicineWise delivery channels, which include the Educational Delivery Service, provided by over 50 clinical services specialists, who deliver educational visiting services to health care professionals nationally. The NPS Medicines Line, and the NPS Adverse Medicine Events Line – both are telephone services to support consumers with medicines information, and assist in reporting suspected adverse events to medicines to the TGA, are also overseen by Sarah. Sarah previously worked for the NSW Pharmacy Board, where she was responsible for the registration assessment processes for all NSW pharmacy graduates, as well as delivering information on therapeutic goods legislation. Sarah is also a media spokesperson for NPS MedicineWise.

Dr Susan Hunt, core member

Biography to be published.  

Page reviewed 4/08/2017