Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency

Member Profiles

Photo of Michael Gorton

Mr Michael Gorton AM, Chair

Michael Gorton is reappointed as the Chair of the Agency Management Committee for a three year term from March 2016. Mr Gorton was first appointed to the Agency Management Committee in March 2009 as a member with business and administrative expertise, and first appointed as Chair in April 2014.

Mr Gorton is a commercial lawyer with considerable experience providing legal advice on medical registration, training, education and administrative practice. As a principal of Russell Kennedy Solicitors, he has significant experience in business management and administration.

He is a board member of Melbourne Health (Royal Melbourne Hospital), Ambulance Victoria and a Director of the Australasian College of Emergency Medicine.

He is a former Chair of the Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission.

In 2004, Mr Gorton received the Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for community service.

Photo of Karen Crawshaw

Ms Karen Crawshaw PSM

Ms Crawshaw is reappointed to the Agency Management Committee as a member with expertise in health business and administration for a three year term from March 2016. She was first appointed in September 2012.

Ms Crawshaw holds Bachelor degrees in Arts and Law, is admitted to the NSW Supreme Court and High Court and holds an unrestricted practising certificate from the NSW Law Society.

Ms Crawshaw has held various government legal positions, including NSW Health’s Director Legal and General Counsel. In 2007 Ms Crawshaw was appointed as a Deputy Director-General and in her current role as Deputy Secretary, Governance, Workforce and Corporate she has policy responsibility within NSW Health for corporate governance, workforce, industrial relations, business reform, asset management and procurement, strategic communications, ministerial and executive services and legal and regulatory services.

Ms Crawshaw was awarded the Public Service Medal in 2012 for her significant contributions to the public sector.

Photo of Ian Smith

Mr Ian Smith PSM

Mr Smith is reappointed to the Agency Management Committee in March 2016, with a three year term of appointment, as a member with expertise in health, business and administration. He was first appointed in September 2012.

Mr Smith is an experienced senior health official with a strong track record in delivering the full range of integrated health care services – acute care in hospitals, acute psychiatric mental health, community mental health, public health, community and allied health and aged care. He has held many senior executive leadership roles in rural Western Australia including the Pilbara, Kimberley, South West and Great Southern Regions.

Mr Smith capped off his rural CEO responsibilities with metropolitan experience as the CEO of the South Metropolitan Health Service.

Mr Smith has been appointed to the Chair for the newly established East Metropolitan Health Service in Perth.

Picture of Jenny Taing.

Ms Jenny Taing

Ms Taing is a senior lawyer with the Australian Securities and Investments Commission specialising in financial services, managed funds and superannuation law. She is a board director of The Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital and involved with the University of Melbourne, as a member of the Advisory Board of the Centre for Advancing Journalism and a member of the Alumni Council. She has also served as a Commissioner at the Victorian Multicultural Commission.

Ms Taing holds a Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Laws (Honours) from the University of Melbourne and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is the winner of the University of Melbourne Faculty of Arts Alumni Rising Star Award for 2014 and has been recognised as one of Australia’s young leaders, appearing on CPA Australia’s list of top 40 Young Business Leaders for 2013. Ms Taing joins the Agency Management Committee as member with expertise in business and administration and is appointed for her first three year term to 11 April 2017.

Picture of Barbara Yeoh.

Ms Barbara Yeoh AM

Ms Yeoh is the current Chair of Monash Health, Chair of the Council of Board Chairs (Victorian health services), Deputy Chair of the Victoria State Emergency Service Authority and Deputy Chair of the CASA Board Audit Committee. She has previously served on the Board of Austin Health and Eastern Health in Victoria. She has over 25 years’ experience as a director across a range of public and private sector agencies including in the health, education, finance, insurance, transport, technology and infrastructure sectors.

Ms Yeoh has previously served as a Council Member and Deputy Chancellor at Latrobe University. She has maintained her interest in education through her position as a Principal Associate of Phillips KPA, specialist advisers to the education sector. Ms Yeoh has also held a range of senior management appointments in the Victorian public sector. Ms Yeoh joined the Agency Management Committee as a member with expertise in health, education and training and appointed for her first three year term to 11 April 2017.

Dr Peggy Brown, Agency Management Committee

Dr Peggy Brown

Dr Brown is appointed to the Agency Management Committee as a member with expertise in health, education and training for a three year term from March 2016.

Dr Brown is a registered medical practitioner (psychiatrist) with over 30 years’ experience in the Australian health sector. She has held senior clinical and administrative positions in the public health system including the position of Director- General of ACT Health from 2010 until 2015.

Dr Brown is a former Chair of the Australian Health Ministers’ Advisory Council and is well versed with the operational, legislative and policy aspects of the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme for health professions including the work of National Boards and the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA). Her extensive experience in the health sector also includes key roles with the psychiatry training program of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists.

Dr Susan Young

Ms Philippa Smith

Page reviewed 31/01/2017