Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee

The AHPRA Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee (FARMC) is a committee of the Agency Management Committee (AManC), chaired by Ms Barbara Yeoh AM. The Committee is responsible for ensuring an effective audit and risk assessment function for AHPRA.

In fulfilling its responsibilities to the AManC, the FARMC reports to the AManC with an annual report on the activities and operations of the FARMC and the achievements against its charter and the annual Audit and Risk Assessment Plan. 

Document title PDF Accessible format Document date
FARMC annual report 2015-16 PDF (147KB) Word version 
(660 KB,DOCX) 
24 November 2016 
FARMC annual report 2014-15 PDF (145KB) Word version 
(637 KB,DOCX)
9 Nov 2015
Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee Terms of Reference PDF (133KB) Word version 
(570 KB,DOCX)
1 September 2016
Investment Policy PDF (53.0KB) Word version 
(907 KB,DOCX)
28 May 2015
Internal Audit Terms of Reference PDF (194KB) Word version
(74.0 KB,DOCX)
28 May 2015


Picture of Barbara Yeoh.

Ms Barbara Yeoh AM

Ms Yeoh is the current Chair of Monash Health, Director of the Victoria State Emergency Service Authority and Deputy Chair of the CASA Board Audit Committee.

She has previously served on the Board of Austin Health and Eastern Health in Victoria. She has over 25 years’ experience as a director across a range of public and private sector agencies including in the health, education, finance, insurance, transport, technology and infrastructure sectors. Ms Yeoh has previously served as a Council Member and Deputy Chancellor at Latrobe University. She has maintained her interest in education through her position as a Principal Associate of Phillips KPA, specialist advisers to the education sector. Ms Yeoh has also held a range of senior management appointments in the Victorian public sector. Ms Yeoh joins the Agency Management Committee as a member with expertise in health, education and training and is appointed for her first three year term to 11 April 2017.

Picture of Mr David Taylor.

Mr David Taylor

Mr Taylor has extensive experience in the banking and marketing sectors having held senior management positions in the financial services industry. Since retiring as Divisional Head, Business Banking at Bankwest Bank, Mr Taylor has served on the Boards of a number of public, private and government enterprises across a range of industries including health services, information technology, financial services, agribusiness and vocational education. Mr Taylor was former Chair of the Forest Products Commission and the Perth Market Authority. He is currently a Board member of Agrifood Skills Australia Ltd and chairs their Finance & Risk Committee. Mr Taylor holds a Bachelor’s degree in Economics and is a Graduate Member and Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

He joins the Agency Management Committee as a member with expertise in business and administration and is appointed for his first three year term to 11 April 2017.

David Balcombe.

Mr David Balcombe

Mr Balcombe brings to the Committee considerable experience is accounting, audit and risk management gained during an extensive career at Ernst & Young, as a Partner. He was responsible for quality and risk management in that Firm’s Oceania area before moving to similar roles in the Asia Pacific area where his responsibilities covered much of South East Asia and China. He was also was involved in audit, corporate advisory, internal audit outsourcing and related roles where he served clients in a broad range of industries including government, manufacturing, retail and distribution.

Mr Balcombe is currently a Financial Counsellor with a not-for profit community organisation.

He holds a Bachelors’ Degree in Commerce, is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia & New Zealand and a Registered Company Auditor.

He joined the Finance, Audit & Risk Management Committee as a member with expertise in accounting and audit and risk management, his term will expire on 31 May 2018.

Photo of Ian Smith

Mr Ian Smith PSM

Mr Smith is reappointed to the Agency Management Committee in March 2016, with a three year term of appointment, as a member with expertise in health, business and administration. He was first appointed in September 2012.

Mr Smith is an experienced senior health official with a strong track record in delivering the full range of integrated health care services – acute care in hospitals, acute psychiatric mental health, community mental health, public health, community and allied health and aged care. He has held many senior executive leadership roles in rural Western Australia including the Pilbara, Kimberley, South West and Great Southern Regions.

Mr Smith capped off his rural CEO responsibilities with metropolitan experience as the CEO of the South Metropolitan Health Service.

Mr Smith has been appointed to the interim Chair for the newly established East Metropolitan Health Service in Perth. 

Photo of Kim Jones

Kim Jones

Kim Jones is an independent non-executive director with experience in industry sectors including financial services, global asset management, institutional funds management, superannuation, health, youth and education. During her executive career, Kim was a superannuation trustee, investor relations, marketing and communications specialist with ASX100 institutional fund managers and financial services companies: Colonial First State Global Asset Management, Colonial First State Property (subsidiaries of Commonwealth Bank) and Lend Lease.The earlier part of her career was spent as a marine scientist and teacher, and promoting new technology at the University of New South Wales.

Kim is currently a community member on the Dental Board of Australia, Chair of Hear For You (a not for profit for deaf and hard of hearing teenagers) and Company Secretary of Pittwater Business Limited.

Kim holds an Honours Degree in Science from the University of Sydney, a graduate Diploma of Education and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Page reviewed 31/01/2017