

Communiqué

November 2022 meeting of the Accreditation Committee

The Ahpra Board established the Accreditation Committee ('the Committee') consistent with Ministerial Council Policy Direction 2020-1 to provide independent and expert advice on accreditation reform and other National Scheme accreditation matters to National Scheme entities (National Boards, Accreditation Authorities and Ahpra). Other external entities performing accreditation roles as part of the National Scheme, such as specialist colleges and postgraduate medical councils should have regard for the Committee's advice, where relevant.

The Accreditation Committee issues a communiqué after each meeting to keep stakeholders informed about its work.

The Accreditation Committee held its sixth meeting via videoconference on 30 November 2022.

Update on National Cabinet related work on health workforce strategies

Ahpra provided an update on Ahpra's work to accelerate skills and qualifications recognition in key sectors as part of initiatives requested by National Cabinet.

Proposed glossary of accreditation terms to support the Committee's advice

The Committee considered the draft initial glossary developed by the HPACF-Ahpra Joint Working Group and the draft consultation materials in preparation for preliminary consultation and approved the release of the draft initial glossary and consultation materials for preliminary consultation with targeted stakeholders in early 2023.

Embedding interprofessional education and collaborative practice in education

Members considered the draft proposed interprofessional collaborative practice (IPCP) statement of intent, the communications and engagement plan and draft preliminary consultation documents and approved the release of the documents for preliminary consultation with targeted stakeholders in early 2023.

Embedding diverse clinical placements and evidence-based technological advances in education

Consistent with outcomes from the August 2022 meeting, members considered detailed work on good practice approaches to embedding diverse clinical placements and evidence-based technological advances in health practitioner education. The work provided an extensive literature review on areas identified by the Committee for further investigation at the August meeting. Members requested additional advice on the use of virtual care delivery and telehealth within health profession education.

Annual updates

Workplan refresh

The Committee conducted a refresh of its initial work plan as agreed at the March 2022 meeting. Members noted the achievements made to date against each of the work plan deliverables and agreed on the proposed activities and areas of focus for work in 2023. The Committee will publish an updated workplan in early 2023.

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency
National Boards
GPO Box 9958 Melbourne VIC 3001 Ahpra.gov.au 1300 419 495

Annual self-evaluation

Members reviewed the results of the Committee's self-evaluation survey and identified areas for enhancement of the Committee into 2023.

Annual report 2021-22

Members considered the Committee's annual report for 2021-22. Members noted the Committee's achievements during its first year of operation, in particular progress in developing the draft initial glossary and work to progress the National Scheme interprofessional education and IPCP statement of intent. Members approved the report for submission to the Ahpra Board.

Next meeting

The next meeting of the Accreditation Committee will be held on 5 April 2023.

More information

Questions about the work of the Committee may be directed to the secretariat via email to: ahpra.gov.au.

Members

Professor Andrew Wilson Independent Chair

Ms Alison Barnes Nominee of the National Scheme Aboriginal and Torres Strait

Islander Health Strategy Group

Mr Brett Simmonds National Boards representative

Professor Brian Jolly Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF)

Dr Hamza Vayani Consumer representative

Dr Heather Buchan

Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

Ms Katrina Quinn

Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)

Emeritus Professor Ian Wronski AO

Mr Jeffrey Moffet

Member of Ahpra Board

Mrs Kay Leatherland

Private healthcare employer

Professor Maree O'Keefe

Accreditation/education expert

Ms Narelle Mills Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF)

Dr Susan Young Member of Ahpra Board

Adjunct Professor Veronica Casey AM National Boards representative

Ms Nicole Argall Jurisdictional Representative