

Communiqué

August 2022 meeting of the Accreditation Committee

The Agency Management Committee established the Accreditation Committee consistent with Ministerial Council Policy Direction 2020-1 to provide independent and expert advice on accreditation reform and other National Scheme accreditation matters to National Scheme entities (National Boards, Accreditation Authorities and Ahpra). Other external entities performing accreditation roles as part of the National Scheme, such as specialist colleges and postgraduate medical councils should have regard for the committee's advice, where relevant.

The Accreditation Committee issues a communiqué after each meeting to keep stakeholders informed about its work.

The Accreditation Committee held its fifth meeting via videoconference on 31 August 2022.

Embedding interprofessional education and collaborative practice in education

One of the Committee's first priorities is a National Scheme statement of intent for interprofessional collaborative practice (IPCP). The approach to this work provides an opportunity for stakeholders including the 15 National Boards, accreditation authorities, Ahpra and health and education sector leaders and organisations, to consider how to encourage action to support IPCP within their spheres of influence.

The Committee has established an expert working group chaired by Professor Maree O'Keefe to provide subject matter advice on this work, including input to drafts of the National Scheme statement of intent for interprofessional collaborative practice (the IPCP statement of intent).

The working group met in August 2022 to consider and provide advice on the project plan and possible content for the initial draft. The Committee considered and agreed the working group's proposed updates to the timelines for preliminary consultation activities to ensure there are adequate opportunities for consultation and engagement with stakeholders. Members agreed to consider the draft IPCP statement of intent in late 2022 ahead of preliminary consultation with stakeholders.

Embedding diverse clinical placements and evidence-based technological advances in education

Deliverable 9 in the Committee's published work plan is the development of advice for National Scheme accreditation entities to support good practice in embedding diverse clinical placements and evidence-based technological advances in health practitioner education. The Committee considered a 'deep dive' paper exploring issues related to the provision of diverse clinical placements and use of evidence-based technological advances to support innovation in program delivery.

Members discussed the challenges currently being experienced in providing clinical placements for students, in part due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the emerging evidence to support more innovative approaches to clinical placements and the use of simulation as part of future clinical education models. Members provided expert advice to support more detailed work in this area for consideration at the next meeting.

Streamlining pathways for assessment of internationally qualified practitioners

In June 2022 members noted the complexity of the registration/migration pathways for internationally qualified practitioners and agreed to consider, for each profession, more detailed process maps illustrating the interface between the assessments for the purposes of migration and registration. Members discussed the work currently being progressed by the Australian Government with state and territory governments and agreed that work to streamline the current pathways is best undertaken in the context of this intergovernmental work. The Committee agreed that it would be happy to provide further advice to governments as required, but otherwise will not progress further work in this area at this time.

Update on other initial workplan items

Members noted the updates on the progress of other items on the Committee's initial workplan, in particular the work by the Joint Ahpra-HPACF Working Group to progress development of the initial glossary of accreditation terms that will enhance shared understanding and consistent interpretation of the Committee's advice.

Next meeting

The next meeting of the Accreditation Committee will be held on 30 November 2022.

More information

Questions about the work of the Committee may be directed to the secretariat via email to: ahpra.secretariat@ahpra.gov.au.

Members

Professor Andrew Wilson Independent Chair

Dr Heather Buchan

Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

Ms Katrina Quinn

Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)

Emeritus Professor Ian Wronski AO Universities Australia

Ms Narelle Mills Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF)

Dr Susan Young Agency Management Committee
Adjunct Professor Veronica Casey AM National Boards representative
Mr Brett Simmonds National Boards representative
Mrs Kay Leatherland Private healthcare employer
Ms Deborah Frew Jurisdictional representative
Dr Hamza Vayani Consumer representative

In attendance

Ms Bronwyn Clark attended as an HPACF nominee in Professor Brian Jolly's absence.

Ahpra

Mr Chris Robertson Executive Director, Strategy and Policy
Ms Helen Townley National Director, Policy and Accreditation

Ms Margaret Grant Specialist Accreditation Adviser

Ms Kerryn Rozenbergs Senior Policy Officer

Mr Peter Knapp Secretariat

Apologies

Professor Maree O'Keefe Accreditation / education expert

Professor Brian Jolly HPACF

Ms Alison Barnes Nominee of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health

Strategy Group

Mr Jeffrey Moffet Agency Management Committee
Mr Martin Fletcher Chief Executive Officer, Ahpra