



# July 2022 Chinese Medicine Accreditation Committee meeting

The Chinese Medicine Accreditation Committee (the Committee) publishes this communiqué on the Committee's <u>accreditation webpages</u>. Please forward it to your colleagues and employees who may be interested.

## **Committee meeting**

The 49<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Committee was held face-to-face in Melbourne on 15 July 2022. The Committee anticipates holding one further meeting in 2022.

Some activities that were discussed at the Committee's July 2022 meeting, as well as some other activities, are outlined below.

## Farewell to outgoing members

Dr Meeuwis Boelen (Chair) and Associate Professor Chris Zaslawski commenced their terms on 1 July 2012; and Mr David Schievenin commenced his term on 1 July 2016. Their terms will finish on 31 August 2022.

Meeuwis and Chris were instrumental in the development and implementation of the 2013 and 2019 Accreditation Standards: Chinese medicine and input into the Chinese Medicine Board of Australia's (National Board) *Professional Capabilities for registered Chinese medicine practitioners*.

David also provided input into the development and implementation of the 2019 Accreditation Standards: Chinese medicine and input into the Chinese Medicine Board of Australia's (National Board) *Professional Capabilities for registered Chinese medicine practitioners*.

Thankfully, Meeuwis, Chris and David will continue to provide their expertise as assessors for the Committee.

As this was their final meeting, the Committee members and the Program Accreditation team thanked them for their valuable contributions during their terms.

## New Chair and members

## Chair

The National Board recently appointed Professor Brian Jolly as Chair of the Committee commencing on 1 September 2022. Brian is a Conjoint member of staff at the University of Newcastle and currently Chair of the Medical Radiation Practice Accreditation Committee.

## Members

The National Board also appointed Emeritus Professor Marilyn Baird and Mr Shuai Zheng as members of the Committee. Their terms will commence on 1 September 2022.

Marilyn recently retired from the position of Associate Dean, Learning and Teaching within the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences at Monash University where she had responsibility for quality in learning and teaching within the faculty. In December 2012 Marilyn was appointed the inaugural Chair of the Medical Radiation Practice Accreditation Committee until retiring in 2018. Marilyn commenced her appointment as Chair of the Paramedicine Accreditation Committee on 1 July 2022.

Shuai is a registered Acupuncturist and Chinese Herbal Medicine Practitioner. He works as the Head of Department – Chinese Medicine at Endeavour College of Natural Health.

The Program Accreditation team and Committee look forward to working with the new Chair and members.

Information on the membership is available on the Committee's membership webpage.

## Assessments and monitoring activities

#### Accreditation assessments underway

The Committee must make accreditation decisions according to the National Law (Section 48) and the published <u>Guidelines for accreditation of education and training programs</u> (guidelines). An education provider submitted their accreditation assessment application on 1 June 2022. The Committee noted the status and due dates of applications for three upcoming accreditation assessments in 2022.

#### 2022 Routine annual monitoring

The 2022 Routine annual monitoring report (including COVID-19 reporting) form and associated templates were disseminated to three education providers in April 2022. Two education providers will receive their 2022 Routine annual monitoring package in August 2022. The Committee considered the assessors evaluation of the information submitted by three education providers at their July 2022 meeting. The outcomes of the Committee's evaluation will be provided to the education providers and National Board in August 2022. The Committee will consider the information provided by the education providers, with a due date of 30 September 2022, at their December 2022 meeting.

#### Monitoring approved programs of study

At its July 2022 meeting, the Committee considered a monitoring response from one education provider for a program of study. The outcomes of the Committee's evaluation will be provided to the education provider and National Board in August 2022.

The Committee will continue to provide updates to the National Board on its monitoring of approved programs of study.

#### **Reporting to the National Board and Ahpra**

As outlined in section 7 of its current Terms of Reference (ToR), the Committee must provide to the National Board reports and supporting documentation in accordance with the timeframes and requirements as identified in *Attachment F* of the ToR.

In April 2022 the Committee provided exception reporting on any substantive changes to activities set out in the Committee's workplan, and any other specific issues agreed to report on with the National Board.

#### Stakeholder engagement

The Program Accreditation team, on behalf of the Committee, continues to engage with education providers via the Committee's <u>accreditation webpages</u>; through correspondence via email, phone contact and videoconference meetings, and communiques.

#### **Contact information**

For any queries related to Chinese medicine program accreditation, please contact the Chinese Medicine Accreditation Committee via the Program Accreditation team at program.accreditation@ahpra.gov.au.

## Follow Ahpra on social media

Connect with Ahpra on <u>Facebook</u>, <u>Twitter</u> or <u>LinkedIn</u> to receive information about important topics for your profession and participate in the discussion.



Chinese Medicine Accreditation Committee Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency GPO Box 9958 Melbourne VIC 3001 Chinesemedicineboard.gov.au (03) 8708 9709

Ahpra and the Chinese Medicine Accreditation Committee work in partnership to accredit education and training programs for Chinese medicine.