Communique



April 2022 Paramedicine Accreditation Committee meeting

The Paramedicine Accreditation Committee (Committee) publishes this communiqué on its <u>accreditation</u> <u>webpages</u>. Please forward it to your colleagues and employees who may be interested.

Committee meeting

The fourteenth meeting of the Committee was held on 21 April 2022 in Melbourne. The Committee anticipates holding two more meetings in 2022.

Some activities that were discussed at the Committee's April 2022 meeting, as well as some other key activities for the Committee, are outlined below.

New Committee term

The Paramedicine Board of Australia (National Board) recently made appointments and reappointments to the Committee for its next three year term from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2025. Information on the members will be available shortly on the Committee's <u>membership webpage</u>.

Farewell to outgoing Chair Eileen Willis

The current Chair, Professor Emeritus Eileen Willis, did not seek reappointment to the Committee. Eileen commenced her role as the inaugural Chair in April 2019, and this was her final meeting as Chair. Eileen has been integral in the development and implementation of the 2020 Accreditation standards for Paramedicine and provided essential input into the National Board's professional capabilities for paramedicine practitioners.



Alan Morrison, Richard Larsen, Eileen Willis, Marty Nichols, Helen Webb, Bill Lord (absent - Tony Hucker)

Eileen has agreed to continue to provide her considerable expertise as an accreditation assessor for the Committee, and will provide valuable input to the succession planning in place for the incoming Committee Chair.

Welcome to incoming Committee Chair Marilyn Baird

Incoming Chair, Professor Emeritus Marilyn Baird recently retired from the position of Associate Dean, Learning and Teaching within the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences at Monash University where she had responsibility for quality in learning and teaching within the faculty.

Marilyn was the Chair of the Medical Radiation Technologists Board of Victoria from 2005 to 2008 and its replacement, the Victorian Medical Radiation Practice Board from 2008 to 2011. In December 2012 Marilyn was appointed the inaugural Chair of the Medical Radiation Practice Accreditation Committee until retiring in 2018.

In December 2021 the Vice Chancellor of Monash University appointed Marilyn as Emeritus Professor in recognition of her services to health profession education. Marilyn has extensive experience in all facets of course accreditation, teaching, learning theory and practice.

Assessment and monitoring activities for approved programs of study

Accreditation assessments

The 2020 <u>Accreditation standards for paramedicine</u> took effect on 1 June 2021. The Committee must make accreditation decisions according to the National Law (Section 48) and the published <u>Guidelines for accreditation of education and training programs</u> (guidelines).

At the April 2022 meeting the Committee considered its first accreditation assessment team report. There are currently two other programs undergoing an accreditation assessment, and the Committee anticipates receiving a further ten accreditation applications in 2022.

Routine annual monitoring

At its April 2022 meeting, the Committee considered further information in relation to the 2021 Routine annual monitoring responses from two education providers and their programs of study. The education providers and the Board will be provided the outcomes of the further information requests in May 2022.

The Committee has confirmed its approach to routine annual monitoring in 2022, based on feedback from education providers and the Australasian Council of Paramedicine Deans. To manage the Committee's workplan, education providers are being asked to report in one of two tranches across 2022. Please contact the <u>Program Accreditation Team</u> if you have any questions about 2022 Routine annual monitoring.

Monitoring approved programs of study

At the April 2022 meeting, the Committee considered information provided from two education providers regarding intentions to deliver Paramedicine programs. The Committee also considered information provided by three education providers regarding notices of change to delivery of their approved Paramedicine programs. The outcomes of the Committee's consideration will be provided to the education providers and the National Board in May 2022.

The Committee will continue to provide updates to the National Board on its monitoring of approved programs of study.

Reporting to the National Board and Ahpra

As outlined in section 7 of its current Terms of Reference (ToR), the Committee must provide to the National Board reports and supporting documentation in accordance with the timeframes and requirements as identified in *Attachment F* of the ToR.

In April 2022 the Committee anticipates providing exception reporting on any substantive changes to activities set out in the Committee's workplan, and any other specific issues agreed to report on with the National Board.

Stakeholder engagement

The Program Accreditation Team, on behalf of the Committee, continues to engage with education providers via the Committee's accreditation webpage and through correspondence on email and phone contact, teleconferences with the Chair, and communiques via the Program Accreditation Team.

The Committee has invited the Australasian Council of Paramedicine Deans to attend their September 2022 meeting to discuss matters of common interest.

Contact information

For any queries related to paramedicine program accreditation, please contact the Committee via the Program Accreditation Team at <u>program.accreditation@ahpra.gov.au</u>. For more information on paramedicine accreditation please visit the Committee's <u>accreditation webpage</u>.

Follow Ahpra on social media

Connect with Ahpra on <u>Facebook</u>, <u>Twitter</u> or <u>LinkedIn</u> to receive information about important topics for your profession and participate in the discussion.

