

Communiqué

March 2022 meeting of the Accreditation Committee

The Agency Management Committee established the Accreditation Committee consistent with Ministerial Council Policy Direction 2020-1 to provide independent and expert advice on accreditation reform and other National Scheme accreditation matters to National Scheme entities (National Boards, Accreditation Authorities and Ahpra). Other external entities performing accreditation roles as part of the National Scheme, such as specialist colleges and postgraduate medical councils should have regard for the committee's advice, where relevant.

The Accreditation Committee issues a communiqué after each meeting to keep stakeholders informed about its work.

The Accreditation Committee held its third meeting via videoconference on 1 March 2022. The key areas considered by the Committee reflected outcomes of the second meeting including the appointment of a Deputy Chair, refinements to the Committee's work plan and possible timelines, a process for monitoring work being undertaken by other entities, a project plan and initial scoping for work on the glossary of agreed terms and definitions across accreditation and related issues, and a deep dive into interprofessional education (IPE) and interprofessional collaborative practice (IPCP).

The appointment of a Deputy Chair

In December 2021, the Committee discussed the potential appointment by the Chair of a Deputy and the importance of ensuring that any appointment to the Deputy Chair position must ensure a similar type of independence as the Chair, as set out in the Committee's <u>Charter</u>.

The Chair confirmed the appointment of the Committee's education/accreditation expert as his deputy after identifying Professor Maree O'Keefe as the only Committee member who meets these criteria.

The Committee's work plan

The meeting provided an opportunity for members to further consider the Committee's work plan, building on the outcomes of previous meetings. Specifically, members considered revisions to the work plan to reflect the discussion at the December 2021 meeting and proposed timelines for the Committee's initial work, including deliverables for each work plan item, and milestones for progressing the work in 2022.

Members approved the work plan and confirmed the proposed timelines for the work. The Committee will review the work plan towards the end of the year to consider the deliverables for 2023 and beyond.

Process for monitoring progress on work by other entities

In work plan discussions to date, members have noted that a number of National Scheme entities and other bodies are undertaking work on topics of interest to the Committee. Members affirmed the importance of monitoring the progress of this work and aligning the Committee's work with the work of other entities. Members agreed that it would be helpful to include written and verbal updates from the relevant entities, in particular the Accreditation Liaison Group (ALG) and the Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF), as part of the Committee's June and November meeting agendas.

Consolidated glossary of terms across the spectrum of accreditation

Members considered a detailed project plan and initial scoping for the development of a consolidated glossary of terms across the spectrum of accreditation, building on the terms already defined in the Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum's (HPACFs) Glossary of Terms.

Ahpra and the HPACF will work together on the project, with oversight from the Committee. Work on the initial version of the glossary will commence in March 2022 and be completed in mid-2023, recognising that development of some definitions will take more time. Work on these definitions/concepts will continue and the glossary will be updated as these definitions/concepts are settled and as the Committee's work in other areas progresses.

This work recognises the importance of shared language to progressing the committee's whole-of-scheme and cross-profession advice in a range of areas. Shared language will build a shared understanding of the advice across different professions, different National Scheme entities and external stakeholders and will support consistent approaches to implementing the committee's advice.

Deep dive: interprofessional education (IPE), interprofessional learning (IPL) and interprofessional collaborative practice (IPCP)

Members reaffirmed the importance of interprofessional collaborative practice (IPCP) as central to improving health outcomes for patients. Members also reaffirmed the importance of IPE as a key enabler of IPCP and recognised that embedding IPCP in practice is a complex endeavour. The Committee's broad stakeholder membership provides a potential opportunity to make a unique and significant contribution to embedding IPCP in practice, at least across the 16 professions within the National Scheme.

The Committee will consider a project plan for developing an IPCP statement of intent at its June meeting, with a proposal for an integrated approach that incorporates IPL-related work being undertaken by the ALG and the HPACF. Members agreed there would be value in engaging others with expertise in IPE, IPCP and IPL to progress the statement of intent.

Next meeting

The next meeting of the Accreditation Committee will be held in June 2022.

More information

Questions about the work of the Committee may be directed to the secretariat via email to: AHPRA.Secretariat@ahpra.gov.au.

Meeting attendees

Members

Professor Andrew Wilson Independent Chair

Professor Maree O'Keefe Accreditation / education expert

Dr Heather Buchan Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

Emeritus Professor Ian Wronski AO Universities Australia

Ms Narelle Mills HPACF
Professor Brian Jolly HPACF

Dr Susan Young Agency Management Committee member

Mr Jeffrey Moffet Agency Management Committee member

Mr Brett Simmonds

Adjunct Professor Veronica Casey AM

Mrs Kay Leatherland

National Boards representative

Private healthcare employer

Ms Alison Barnes Nominee of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health

Strategy Group

Ahpra

Mr Martin Fletcher Chief Executive Officer, Ahpra

Mr Chris Robertson Executive Director, Strategy and Policy
Ms Helen Townley National Director, Policy and Accreditation

Ms Margaret Grant

Ms Kerryn Rozenbergs

Mr Peter Knapp

Specialist Accreditation Adviser

Senior Policy Officer

Secretariat

Apologies

Ms Deborah Frew

Dr Hamza Vayani

Jurisdictional representative

Consumer representative