

Communiqué

December 2021 meeting of the Accreditation Committee

The Agency Management Committee established the Accreditation Committee consistent with Ministerial Council Policy Direction 2020-1 to provide independent and expert advice on accreditation reform and other National Scheme accreditation matters to National Scheme entities (National Boards, Accreditation Authorities and Ahpra). Other external entities performing accreditation roles as part of the National Scheme, such as specialist colleges and postgraduate medical councils should have regard for the committee's advice, where relevant.

The Accreditation Committee issues a communiqué after each meeting to keep stakeholders informed about its work.

The Accreditation Committee held its second meeting via videoconference on 1 December 2021. The key areas considered by Committee reflected outcomes of the first meeting including the alignment between its work and the objectives of the National Scheme, its draft work plan, the Australian Government's response to the *Educating the Nurse of the Future* report, its stakeholder consultation and engagement plan and the committee's ways of working.

Alignment between Committee's work and National Scheme objectives

Members welcomed background presentations on accreditation in the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme and the alignment between the Committee's work and National Scheme objectives from Ahpra and the Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF).

Initial work plan

The meeting provided an opportunity for the committee to discuss its priority areas of work, building on the outcomes of the first meeting. Members reaffirmed their view that the committee would be most effective if it focuses initial work on a smaller range of deliverables, while continuing to monitor progress on work already underway across the National Scheme in other areas, with a view to revisiting these later. The scope of the initial work plan agreed by the committee reflects this approach and provides opportunities for early work to contribute to progress across the spectrum of areas referred by Ministers. Members will consider refinements to the work plan and possible timelines at its next meeting in March 2022.

Members agreed that initial work should focus on the development of a glossary of agreed terms and definitions across accreditation and related issues, building on the terms already defined in the HPACF's Glossary of Terms. This initial work recognises the importance of shared language to progressing the committee's whole-of-scheme and cross-profession advice in a range of areas. Shared language will enable a shared understanding of the advice across different professions, different National Scheme entities and external stakeholders, including the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency and the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Healthcare. It will also support consistent approaches to implementing the committee's advice and ensure that the committee's work builds on the progress already made in many areas. The committee will consider a detailed project plan and initial scoping at its next meeting in March 2022.

The Educating the Nurse of the Future report

In December 2019, the Commonwealth Department of Health published the *Educating the Nurse of the Future* report (the ENOF Report) which delivered 26 recommendations designed to improve the educational preparation of nurses in Australia and address issues relating to nursing education and the nursing profession.

The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) and the nursing and midwifery accreditation authority the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council (ANMAC) were given responsibility (jointly or separately) for a significant number of the recommendations. The NMBA and ANMAC jointly reviewed the recommendations and together with Ahpra in May 2020, provided a formal response to the ENOF Report to the Commonwealth Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer.

In September 2021, the Commonwealth Government released the *Australian Government response to the independent review of nursing education*. In its response, the Government noted four recommendations address similar issues to recommendations in the Accreditation Systems Review final report and the areas of work that Health Ministers referred to the committee.

Members discussed the potential alignment between recommendations from the ENOF report and the committee's initial work plan. Members agreed to consider the recommendations from the ENOF report as the committee's work progresses.

Stakeholder consultation and engagement

The committee recognises the importance of stakeholder engagement to ensuring that its advice is informed by the best available evidence and reflects the relevant expertise of stakeholders. Members considered and agreed a draft framework for the committee's stakeholder consultation and engagement and affirmed their commitment to respectful, meaningful, open and inclusive engagement with stakeholders who have an interest in or are impacted by its work. Members agreed to develop a comprehensive list of stakeholders who would be consulted as the committee progresses its work.

Ways of working

Members agreed to a document outlining the committee's ways of working, as a basis for establishing shared expectations among committee members about key aspects of the committee's operations. Members agreed to a set of values to underpin the committee's ways of working, relationships within and outside the committee, and key procedures for meeting arrangements.

Next meeting

The next meeting of the Accreditation Committee will be held in March 2022.

More information

Questions about the work of the Committee may be directed to the secretariat via email to: AHPRA.Secretariat@ahpra.gov.au.

Meeting attendees

Members

Professor Andrew Wilson Independent Chair

Professor Maree O'Keefe Accreditation / education expert

Dr Helen Gniel Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)

Emeritus Professor Ian Wronski AO Universities Australia

Ms Narelle Mills Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF)

Professor Brian Jolly HPACF

Dr Susan Young Agency Management Committee

Mr Brett Simmonds National Boards representative

Ms Deborah Frew Jurisdictional representative

Mrs Kay Leatherland Private healthcare employer

Ahpra

Mr Martin Fletcher Chief Executive Officer, Ahpra

Mr Chris Robertson Executive Director, Strategy and Policy

Ms Helen Townley National Director, Policy and Accreditation

Ms Margaret Grant Specialist Accreditation Adviser

Ms Kerryn Rozenbergs Senior Policy Officer

Mr Peter Knapp Secretariat

Apologies

Dr Heather Buchan Professor Anne Duggan attending for Australian Commission on

Safety and Quality in Health Care

Adjunct Professor Veronica Casey AM Ms Catherine Schofield attending as National Boards

representative

Mr Jeffrey Moffet Agency Management Committee member

Ms Alison Barnes Nominee of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health

Strategy Group

Dr Hamza Vayani Consumer representative