

# Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Group

## Communique - May 2020

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Group (Strategy Group) is Co-chaired by Karl Briscoe, CEO of the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Worker Association (NATSIHWA) and Julie Brayshaw, Chair of the Occupational Therapy Board of Australia. The Strategy Group met on 2020 on 20 May 2020 via Zoom due to the safety and travel impacts of COVID-19.

This was the first meeting for 2020 and the first meeting for Karl Briscoe as the Co-Chair and Jacqui Gibson-Roos as the Caucus Deputy-Chair.

#### Members discussed:

- 1. the launch of the <u>National Scheme's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health and Cultural Safety Strategy 2020-2025.</u>
- 2. the culturally safe notifications workshop at the NRAS Combined Meeting 2020.
- 3. Ahpra CEO Martin Fletcher's <u>response</u> to racism against Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples while trying to access healthcare during the COVID-19 pandemic.
- 4. the delivery of the pilot phase of the Moong-moong-gak Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural safety training.
- 5. an update on the process of Reconciliation Australian endorsing the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency *Reflect Reconciliation Action Plan*.
- 6. the delay of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Workforce Summit to 2021 due to COVID-19 implications.
- 7. embedded definition of 'cultural safety' into Codes of Conduct, Guidelines and Standards.

#### **Next meeting**

September 3, 2020.

#### **Attendees**

- Karl Briscoe, NATSIHWA (Co-chair)
- Julie Brayshaw, Occupational Therapy Board of Australia (Co-chair)
- Jacqui Gibson-Roos, Dental Board of Australia (Caucus Deputy-Chair)
- A/Prof Gregory Phillips, ABSTARR Consulting
- Marni Tuala, CATSINaM
- Luke Taylor, Podiatry Council of NSW
- Christopher O'Brien, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Council of NSW

- Dr Sabine Hammond, Australian Indigenous Psychology Education Project (proxy for Pat Dudgeon)
- Theanne Walters, Australian Medical Council
- Dr Ailsa Wood, Chiropractic Board of Australia
- A/Prof Lisa Whop, Community Reference Group (proxy for Darlene Cox)
- Narelle Mills, Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum
- Prof Roianne West, Griffith University
- Tanja Hirvonen, Indigenous Allied Health Australia (proxy for Donna Murray)
- Renee Owen, Chair of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Board of Australia
- Dr Anne Tonkin, Chair of the Medical Board of Australia
- Chris Helm, Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (proxy for Dr Jessa Rogers)
- Gill McAllister PSM, Chair of Agency Management Committee
- Eliza Collier, Ahpra
- Jill Humphreys, Ahpra
- Chris Robertson, Ahpra
- Martin Fletcher, Ahpra
- Kym Ayscough, Ahpra
- Anita Rivera, Ahpra
- Jayde Fuller, Ahpra
- Kristin Wuruki, Ahpra

### **Apologies**

- Dawn Casey, National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation
- Prof Mark Wenitong, Apunipima Cape York Health Council
- Prof Noel Hayman, Southern Queensland Centre of Excellence
- Dr Jessa Rogers, Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia
- Dr Hannah McGlade, Medical Board of Australia
- Linda Renouf, Paramedicine Board of Australia
- Darlene Cox, Ahpra Community Reference Group
- Paul Gray, Australian Indigenous Psychologists Association