Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Chinese Medicine Chiropractic Dental Medical Medical Radiation Practice

Optometry
Osteopathy
Pharmacy
Physiotherapy
Podiatry
Psychology

Occupational Therapy

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency

Communiqué

May meeting of the Accreditation Advisory Committee

14 May 2019

The Accreditation Advisory Committee (AAC) was established by AHPRA's Agency Management Committee in early 2018 to provide oversight and leadership on accreditation governance, accountability and transparency issues, and a whole of Scheme perspective on AHPRA's management of contracts for the performance of the accreditation functions.

The AAC held its second meeting of 2019 on 14 May 2019 and has two further scheduled meetings in the remainder of 2019. In December 2018, the AAC decided to issue a Communique after each meeting to keep stakeholders informed about its work.

This Communique provides information about the AAC's sixth meeting, held by teleconference on **14 May 2019**. Key topics of discussion at this meeting included:

- New accreditation agreements and terms of reference
- Accreditation Systems Review Update
- External discussion with guests from the Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum

New accreditation agreements and terms of reference

Following the review of accreditation assignments in 2018 new accreditation agreements for external accreditation authorities and terms of reference for accreditation committees for the period 2019-2024 have been a key area of the AAC's work. The new accreditation agreements/terms of reference will be a key way to achieve progress on priority issues and enhance accountability through reporting against new KPIs.

Members noted the progress against the indicative timelines to finalise new accreditation agreements and

Members noted the progress against the indicative timelines to finalise new accreditation agreements and terms and that the draft new terms of reference template will be amended to reflect the final new agreement template.

Accreditation Systems Review Update

In August 2015, after considering recommendations from the final report of the *Independent Review of the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme for health professionals* (NRAS Review), Health Ministers asked the Australian Health Ministers' Advisory Council (AHMAC) to commission an independent review of accreditation systems (the Review). Professor Mike Woods was appointed as the independent reviewer and undertook the Review from late 2016 to late 2017. Health Ministers released the final report of the Review in late 2018 and decided to undertake further stakeholder consultation on the costs, benefits and risks of implementing the Review recommendations including proposed governance models. A consultation paper was released for targeted consultation on 21 February 2019 with submissions due at the end of March 2019. National Boards and AHPRA made a joint submission, which continued to advocate for an alternative governance option with some minor adjustments from the previous joint submission.

External discussion with guests from the Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum

We were delighted to welcome the Chair and Deputy Chair from the Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF) as regular guest attendees to the AAC to discuss mutual items of relevance to the Committee and the HPACF. The Chair and Deputy Chair of the Forum advised members of several Forum projects relevant to the priority areas of work including cultural safety and enhanced

consistency. Following attendance by the Forum Chair and Deputy Chair, members reflected on the information presented and noted the importance of engagement between the Forum and AHPRA.

Next meeting

The next meeting of the AAC will be held on 13 August 2019.

More information

Queries regarding the work of the AAC may be directed to Ms Helen Townley, National Director, Accreditation and Policy on Helen. Townley@ahpra.gov.au or phone 03 8708 9111.

Membership

Michael Gorton AM (Chair)
Dr Susan Young

Dr Susan (Sue) Gould

Associate Professor Lynette Cusack Adjunct Professor Karen Crawshaw PSM Emeritus Professor Christine Ewan AM Chair, Agency Management Committee Agency Management Committee

Community member, Medical Radiation Practice Board of

Australia

Chair, Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia

Agency Management Committee

Independent expert

Invited experts

Dr Heather Buchan Dr Karen Treloar Mr Ian Bluntish

Professor Ian Wronski

Australian Commission on Safety & Quality in Health Care Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency Co-convenor, Forum of NRAS Chairs, Interim Co-Chair Accreditation Liaison Group, Chair, Optometry Board of Australia

University of Australia's Health Professions Education

Standing Group