

## Communiqué

19 October 2017

## Health Ministers announce first appointments to the Paramedicine Board of Australia

The Ministerial Council is very pleased to announce the establishment of the inaugural Paramedicine Board of Australia with the first appointments of the Chair, practitioner and community members.

Ministers have appointed a nine member board:

- Associate Professor Stephen Gough ASM as practitioner member from Queensland and National Board Chair
- Ms Clare Beech as practitioner member from New South Wales
- Mr Keith Driscoll ASM as practitioner member from South Australia
- Associate Professor Ian Patrick ASM as practitioner member from Victoria
- Miss Angela Wright as practitioner member from Western Australia
- Mr Howard Wren ASM as practitioner member from a small jurisdiction the Australian Capital Territory (ACT)
- Ms Carol Bennett as community member from the ACT
- Mrs Jeanette Barker (nee Evans) as community member from New South Wales
- Ms Linda Renouf as community member from Queensland.

The Paramedicine Board of Australia will work with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) over the next 12 months to transition the paramedicine profession to national registration under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme. The 'go live' date for paramedics to be registered under the National Scheme is to be prescribed by regulation.

Health Ministers are confident of the Board's ability to successfully manage the transition of the paramedicine profession into the National Scheme, in partnership with AHPRA.

In making the appointments, Ministers must have regard to the skills and experiences of persons as relevant to the functions of the National Board. The mix and balance of skills, experience and attributes that each member can bring across the Board is important. The Chair and practitioner members have the necessary knowledge and understanding of the paramedicine profession nationally and locally across multiple states and territories, have clinical and operational experience, and expertise in education, training and accreditation, and patient safety and quality. Two members are from rural/regional areas in Western Australia and South Australia, exceeding this requirement of the National Law.

Appointed community members will bring a lay perspective and voice to the Board and have strong connections in regional, metropolitan and Indigenous communities. Overall, members have a depth of leadership, regulatory, governance, communication, business, tribunal/legal and policy experience.

Health Ministers thanked the 174 people (56 practitioners and 118 members of the community) who responded to the public call for appointment in late April 2017. Of the practitioner member applicants, 82% identified as male and 18% as female. Applicants could either express their own interest or be nominated and 13 applicants (23%) were formally nominated by at least one third party and provided letters of support while 13 applicants (23%) expressed their own interest with letters of support. The remaining 30 applicants (54%) expressed their own interest. For the community member applicants, 62% identified as female and 38% as male. The clear majority of community member applicants expressed their own interest in appointment, however, three people were formally nominated by a third party and nine people provided letters of support.

The Ministerial Council's inaugural appointments to the National Board are made under the *Health Practitioner Regulation National Law* (the National Law) for a period of three years from 19 October 2017 and are subject to the eligibility requirements of the National Law. In accordance with statutory composition requirements, a nine member board comprises a practitioner member from the five large states (Queensland, New South Wales, South Australia, Victoria and Western Australia), a practitioner member from a small jurisdiction (the ACT, or Tasmania, or the Northern Territory), and three community members that may be from any state or territory. In accordance with the National Law, the Board Chair is appointed from the practitioner members on the Board.

**Media contact:** COAG Health Council Secretariat – 08 8226 6191