

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency

# Communique

9 November 2017

# Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Group

# Development of a National Scheme Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health strategy

National Boards, AHPRA and Accreditation Authorities have committed to an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health strategy with the vision of:

Patient safety for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples is the norm. We recognise that:

- patient safety includes the inextricably linked elements of clinical and cultural safety, and
- this link must be defined by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples.

To lead this important work, an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health strategy group (strategy group) has been developed. Strategy group members include: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health sector leaders and organisations, and representatives from Accreditation Authorities, National Board, and AHPRA.

The strategy group is co-Chaired by Associate Professor Gregory Phillips, CEO of ABSTARR Consulting and Dr Joanna Flynn AM, Chair of the Medical Board of Australia.

The group met for the third time on 9 November 2017 to continue the development of the strategy.

The goal of the meeting was to finalise key documents and report to the strategy group on initiatives and working groups that have been active since the last meeting.

# Decisions

- 1. The draft terms of reference, statement of intent and vision and values were discussed and refined. It was agreed that this group will clear the final copies of these key documents out of session so that they can be distributed to key stakeholders for feedback.
- 2. Members were updated on the feedback provided to the Accreditation Systems Review by members of the strategy group working group.
- 3. It was agreed that a working group be developed to provide advice for jurisdictional representatives on the potential inclusion of cultural safety for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples within the National Law. Members acknowledged the significance of this piece of work and how few legislative drivers there are for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples and the opportunity these amendments have to elevate and codify this work.
- 4. Members discussed cultural safety training learning principles and endorsed the discussion paper developed by the working group. Members discussed the context for the learning and agreed that there should be a nationally consistent model and framework but this should then have input from the local context.
- 5. The group discussed how they could use their networks to support greater representation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples on National Boards.

**Next steps** 

AHPRA will continue to coordinate and develop the strategy, with clear measurable objectives, in partnership with the strategy group; in particular with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health sector leaders.

The work before the next meeting includes:

- finalising statement of intent
- finalising vision and values
- finalising terms of reference
- advising on the potential inclusion of cultural safety for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples within the National Law
- investigating best approach for promoting the National Board vacancies through the networks of partner organisations
- engagement with National Boards, Board chairs and accreditation authorities
- procurement of cultural safety learning model, and
- a draft Reconciliation Action Plan for AHPRA

#### **Next meeting**

The next meeting will be held in February or March 2018.

#### **Attendees**

Member organisations				
1.	Australian Indigenous Doctors' Association (AIDA)	Ms Siani Iglewski, Policy and research manage (proxy)		
2.	Australian Indigenous Doctors' Association (AIDA)	Mr Kris Rallah-Baker, Vice-President (proxy) (via teleconference)		
3.	Australian Psychological Society (Australian Indigenous Psychology Education Project)	Dr Sabine Hammond, Executive Manager, Science, Education and Membership		
4.	Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives	Ms Janine Mohamed, CEO (via teleconference)		
5.	National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Worker Association (NATSIHWA)	Ms Helen Culliver, Policy Officer (proxy)		
6.	The Lowitja Institute	Mr Romlie Mokak, CEO		
7.	Indigenous Allied Health Association (IAHA)	Mr Allan Groth, Chief Operating Officer (proxy)		

#### Member individuals

- 8. Professor Alex Brown, Director Aboriginal Health, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute
- 9. Associate Professor Gregory Phillips, CEO, ABSTARR Consulting
- 10. Professor Noel Hayman, Clinical Director, Inala Aboriginal Health Centre of Excellence
- 11. Professor Roianne West, Professor of First Peoples Health Griffith University

Jurisdictional representatives (non-members, teleconferencing in regarding possible National Law amendments)

<ol> <li>Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Workforce Section, Department of Health, Australian Government</li> </ol>	Mr Brenton Rodgers
<ol> <li>Manager, Workforce Regulation, Department of Health and Human Services, Victoria</li> </ol>	Ms Anne-Louise Carlton
<ol> <li>Principal Policy Advisor (Legislative Reform), Department of Health and Human Services, Victoria</li> </ol>	Ms Kym Daly

#### Internal to the National Scheme

Member National Scheme representatives 15. Chair, AHPRA Agency Management Mr Michael Gorton AM, Chair Committee 16. Co-Chair, Forum of NRAS Chairs Dr Jo Flynn AM, Chair, Medical Board of Australia 17. Chair or nominee of the Aboriginal and Ms Renee Owen, Presiding member **Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Board** of Australia 18. Chair or nominee of the Occupational Ms Julie Brayshaw, Chair Therapy Board of Australia 19. Chair or nominee of the Chiropractic Board Dr Ailsa Wood, Practitioner member of Australia 20. Chair or nominee of the Pharmacy Board of Mr Michael Piu, Community member Australia 21. Chair or nominee of the Psychology Board Ms Marion Hale, Community member of Australia 22. Member. Health Professions Accreditation Ms Narelle Mills, CEO, Australian Dental **Collaborative Forum** Council Ms Theanne Walters, Deputy CEO, Australian Medical Council 23. Member, Community Reference Group (as Ms Jacqui Gibson nominated by the Community Reference Group),

Member AHPRA staff	
24. Chief Executive Officer	Mr Martin Fletcher
25. Executive Director, Strategy and Policy	Mr Chris Robertson
26. Executive Director, Regulatory Operations	Ms Kym Ayscough
27. Executive Officer, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice	Ms Jill Humphreys

# AHPRA staff (regular observers)

28. National Director, Communications

Ms Anita Rivera

29. National Director, Professional Services and	Mr Jit Patel
Transformation	
30. Executive Officer, NRAS	Mr Nick Lord

30.	Executive	Officer,	NRAS		
-----	-----------	----------	------	--	--

AHPRA Secretariat		
31. Policy & Project Officer - Accreditation	Dr Vanessa Oelkers	
32. Program Manager, National Scheme Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy	Mr Gilbert Hennequin	
33. Communications Coordinator	Ms Tess Humann	
Apologies		
Northern Territory Manager	Ms Eliza Collier	
Australian Indigenous Doctor's Association	Mr Craig Dukes, CEO	
Australian Indigenous Doctors' Association (AIDA)	Kali Hayward, President	
Professor Ngiare Brown, Professor of Indigenous	Health and Education, University of Wollongong	
Professor Pat Dudgeon, Vice Chair, Australian Ind	digenous Psychologists Association	
National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation	Ms Pat Turner, CEO	
Indigenous Allied Health Australia	Ms Donna Murray, CEO	
Australian Indigenous Psychologists Association	Ms Tania Dalton, Chairperson	
Associate Professor Mark Wenitong, Director Medicine and Public Health, Apunipima Cape York Jealth Council		
National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Workers' Association	Mr Karl Briscoe, CEO	