Meeting as the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council

Communiqué

11 May 2017

Health Ministers announce appointments to National Boards regulating health professions in Australia

The Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council (the Ministerial Council) is very pleased to announce reappointments to three National Boards regulating the professions of:

- chiropractic
- osteopathy
- psychology

The appointments are made to fill vacancies arising on these National Boards due to the scheduled expiry of terms of members.

The details of the statutory appointments are set out in the attachment to this communiqué.

Health Ministers thanked those registered health practitioners who took the time to apply for these vacancies when they were publicly advertised. Appointments to the advertised vacancies on the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Board of Australia are expected to be made later this year.

Vacancies on the National Boards arise from time to time, and individuals who were not successful in this round are encouraged to express their interest in the future. All vacancies are publicly advertised, including on the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency website.

The Ministerial Council's appointments are made under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law, as in force in each state and territory and are consistent with the Australian Health Ministers' Advisory Council (AHMAC)-endorsed *National Board Member Succession Planning Principles*.

Media contact: COAG Health Council Secretariat – 08 8226 6191

Appointments made to National Boards

Appointments are made to National Boards by resolution of the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council on 10 May 2017, under the *Health Practitioner Regulation National Law*, as in force in each state and territory, for terms as indicated below.

Chiropractic Board of Australia

• **Dr Wayne Minter AM** (chiropractor) – reappointed as practitioner member from New South Wales and Board Chair for a second term, for a period of 3 years from 11 May 2017.

Osteopathy Board of Australia

• **Dr Pamela Dennis** (osteopath) – reappointed as a practitioner member from Tasmania for a second term, for a period of 3 years from 11 May 2017.

Psychology Board of Australia

• **Professor Jennifer Scott** – reappointed as a practitioner member from Tasmania for a second term, for a period of 3 years from 10 May 2017.

All other current appointments to these National Boards are listed on each of the Boards' websites and can be accessed via www.ahpra.gov.au