

(meeting as the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council)

COMMUNIQUE

8 August 2014

HEALTH MINISTERS ANNOUNCE NATIONAL BOARD CHAIR AND MEMBER APPOINTMENTS

Chiropractic Board of Australia Osteopathy Board of Australia

The Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council (the Ministerial Council) is pleased to announce the following National Board appointments.

Chiropractic Board of Australia

- Wayne Minter appointed as new Chair, Chiropractic Board of Australia from 31 August 2014 to 11 November 2016 (the end of his current and continuing term of appointment on the board as practitioner member from New South Wales).
- Phillip Donato, OAM reappointed for a third term as a practitioner member from South Australia for a period of three years from 31 August 2014 to 30 August 2017.

Osteopathy Board of Australia

- Nikole Grbin appointed as new Chair, Osteopathy Board of Australia from 31 August 2014 to 30 August 2015 (the end of her current and continuing term of appointment on the board as practitioner member from South Australia).
- Anne Cooper appointed for a first term as a practitioner member from New South Wales from 31 August 2014 for a period of three years to 30 August 2017.
- Andrew Yaksich appointed for a first term as a practitioner member from Western Australia for a period of three years to 6 August 2017.

Health Ministers congratulated Wayne Minter and Nikole Grbin on their appointments as new Board Chairs, and expressed confidence in their ability to provide strong, strategic leadership of the respective National Boards during their terms of appointment.

Health Ministers also wished to thank Dr Robert Fendall, osteopath, for his dedication and contributions to the national scheme since 2009, as the inaugural Osteopathy Board Chair and practitioner member from New South Wales.

Ministers congratulated Phillip Donato OAM on his reappointment for a third term as a practitioner member on the Chiropractic Board, and thanked him for his strong leadership and contributions to the national scheme as inaugural Chiropractic Board Chair.

The appointments are announced today to assist with the smooth transition in the leadership of the National Boards and the introduction of new members at the end of August 2014.

New practitioner members, Anne Cooper (who is also President of the NSW Osteopathy Council) and Andrew Yaksich were warmly welcomed by Ministers to their new regulatory roles with the Osteopathy Board. Having two new practitioner members on the Board provides an opportunity to broaden the clinical and regulatory experience of its membership, while encouraging new contributions to the work of the Board.

Health Ministers are confident that these appointments provide appropriate renewal, particularly in the leadership role of National Board Chair, and are consistent with the Australian Health Ministers' Advisory Council (AHMAC)-endorsed *National Board Member Succession Planning Principles*

Ministers wished to thank all practitioners who took the time to seek appointment to the National Boards, and encouraged those who were not successful this time to consider expressing interest again in the future as suitable vacancies arise.

Applications were received from 12 registered practitioners for these vacancies. The vacancies arose due the end of the inaugural practitioner members and Chairs' second term appointments in August 2014. There was also a practitioner member vacancy on the Osteopathy Board due to the resignation of the appointed member last year.

All appointments and reappointments are made by the Ministerial Council under the *Health Practitioner Regulation National Law*, as in force in each state and territory, following public advertisement.

Media Contact: Standing Council on Health Secretariat, 08 8226 6191