

# Communiqué

## March 2025 meeting of the Accreditation Committee

The Ahpra Board established the Accreditation Committee (the committee) consistent with Ministerial Council Policy Direction 2020-1 to provide independent and expert advice on accreditation reform and other National Scheme accreditation matters to National Scheme entities (National Boards, Accreditation Authorities and Ahpra). Other external entities performing accreditation roles as part of the National Scheme, such as specialist colleges and postgraduate medical councils should have regard for the committee's advice, where relevant.

The committee issues a communiqué after each meeting to keep stakeholders informed about its work.

The committee held its fifteenth meeting via videoconference on 19 March 2025. Members welcomed Professor Kimberley Norris, the new National Board representative to her first meeting. Members also acknowledged the contributions of Ms Alison Barnes as the outgoing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander representative.

The key areas considered by the committee during the meeting are reflected in its work plan.

## **Update from the Chair**

The Chair advised of a number of meetings with stakeholders he attended since November. The Chair met with the Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF) and held strategic workplan meetings with Senior Ahpra staff. Members were reminded of several project groups open for nomination by committee members to progress work of the committee's workplan.

## Cultural safety and eliminating racism considerations

Members noted cultural safety and racism considerations in relation to the meeting agenda. Members were pleased to note that Ahpra will be publishing two anti-racism policies for all staff and statutory appointees - the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Anti-Racism Policy and Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Anti-Racism Policy.

### 2025 work plan and updated Charter

Members noted the 2024-25 workplan and updated committee Charter have now been approved by the Ahpra Board. The workplan and Charter will be published on the <u>committee's webpage</u>.

#### **Annual schedule of consultations**

An annual schedule of consultations has been developed to assist in planning and help stakeholders respond more meaningfully to the numbers consultations released by Ahpra. The schedule will be published on the committee's webpage.

#### Government workforce and review initiatives

Members noted an update on the various independent reviews including the Kruk review, Dawson review and Scope of Practice review.

## **National Scheme Strategy review**

Members noted an update on the National Scheme Strategy review and discussed how the committee's work will progress areas of the Strategy.

## Reducing duplication in accreditation processes across the National Scheme

Members discussed and provided feedback on the project and deliverable roadmap on reducing duplication in accreditation process across the National Scheme. Members also noted a verbal update from the TEQSA CEO on their work in reducing duplication across higher education and professional accreditation.

## Professional capabilities: Common capabilities development

Members discussed and endorsed the project and deliverable roadmap.

## **Interprofessional Collaborative Practice (IPCP)**

Members noted a verbal update on the latest work of the IPCP Statement of Intent Implementation Working Group.

#### Other business

There was no other business raised.

## **Next meeting**

The next meeting will be held in Sydney in June 2025.

## **More information**

Questions about the committee's work may be directed to the secretariat via email to: <a href="mailto:ahpra.gov.au">ahpra.gov.au</a>.

#### **Members**

Professor Andrew Wilson AO Independent Chair

Professor Maree O'Keefe Accreditation/education expert

Associate Professor Carmen Parter Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander member

Adjunct Professor Veronica Casey AM National Boards representative

Dr Terry Crisp Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum

(HPACF) nominee

Mr Anton Barnett-Harris Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum

(HPACF) nominee

Dr Hamza Vayani Ahpra's Community Advisory Council nominee

Dr Heather Buchan Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

nominee

Professor Kimberley Norris National Boards representative

Dr Mary Russell Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)

nominee

Mr Jeffrey Moffet Ahpra Board member
Professor Trish Davidson AM Ahpra Board member

Mr Takudzwa Gandanhamo Australian Private Hospitals Association (Private healthcare

employer) nominee

Professor Esther May

Ms Valerie Ramsperger

Universities Australia nominee

Jurisdictional representative