

# Communiqué 9 October 2020

# **Health Ministers announce National Board appointments**

Health Ministers (Ministers), as the Ministerial Council for the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (the National Scheme), are very pleased to announce new appointments and reappointments of practitioner members and community members to fill vacancies arising across six National Boards regulating health professions under the National Scheme.

The vacancies are primarily a result of the scheduled expiry of terms for practitioner members and community members appointed to National Boards by the Ministerial Council in 2017. The vacancies were advertised in the national metropolitan press and on the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (Ahpra) and National Board recruitment website earlier this year.

The details of the statutory appointments made by the Ministerial Council are set out in the attachment to this communiqué.

Ministers were pleased with the response to the call for registered practitioners and members of the community to apply for appointment to the National Boards and thanked everyone who took the time to apply. Overall, 69 applications were received for the advertised vacancies across National Boards – 25 applications for practitioner member vacancies and 44 applications for community member vacancies.

The appointment process enables renewal in the membership of National Boards and supports Ministers to consider the mix and balance of skills, experience and attributes that members may bring to the relevant board. There is an opportunity to introduce new members to bring a fresh perspective to the regulatory work of the boards and the National Scheme.

Ministers thanked retiring Chair of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia, Associate Professor Lynette Cusack for her outstanding commitment, leadership, dedication and contribution to the National Scheme and health practitioner regulation and wished her all the best for her future endeavours. Associate Professor Cusack was first appointed in 2009 as an inaugural member and in 2014 as Chair of the Board.

Ministers welcomed all new and returning members to the six National Boards. Ministers thanked them for expressing their interest in and commitment to the principles of the National Scheme and the regulation of health practitioners in the public interest and wished them well over the coming years with their important regulatory roles.

The Ministerial Council's appointments are made under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law, as in force in each state and territory and are consistent with the Australian

Health Ministers' Advisory Council (AHMAC) - endorsed *National Board Member Succession Planning Principles*.

There remains a vacancy on the Pharmacy Board of Australia for a community member that will be further advertised.

Media contact: Health Council Secretariat – 08 8226 6191

## **Appointments made to National Boards**

Appointments made to National Boards by resolution of the Health Council on 17 August 2020 under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law as in force in each state and territory, for terms as indicated below.

## Chiropractic Board of Australia

Reappointed as Chair and practitioner member from New Dr Wayne Minter AM

South Wales for a period of 3 years (third term) from 17

August 2020

All other current National Board appointments continue. Other members are listed on the Board's website: <a href="https://www.chiropracticboard.gov.au/">https://www.chiropracticboard.gov.au/</a>

#### **Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia**

Dr Susan Gould Reappointed as a community member for a period of 3 years

(second term) from 17 August 2020

All other current National Board appointments continue. Chair and members are listed on

the Board's website: https://www.medicalradiationpracticeboard.gov.au/

## **Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia**

Adjunct Associate Professor Appointed as Chair (first term) from 2 October 2020 and Veronica Casey AM

reappointed as a practitioner member from Queensland for

a period of 3 years (third term) from 17 August 2020

Associate Professor Linda Appointed as a practitioner member from South Australia

Starr for a period of 3 years (first term) from 2 October 2020

All other current National Board appointments continue. Other members are listed on the

Board's website: <a href="https://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/">https://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/</a>

## Osteopathy Board of Australia

Dr Nikole Grbin Reappointed as Chair (third term) and practitioner member

from South Australia for a period of 3 years (fourth term) from

2 October 2020

Dr Pamela Dennis Reappointed as a practitioner member from Tasmania for a

period of 3 years (third term) from 17 August 2020

Appointed as a practitioner member from Victoria for a period Dr Timothy McNamara

of 3 years (first term) from 26 September 2020

All other current National Board appointments continue. Members are listed on the Board's

website: https://www.osteopathyboard.gov.au/

# **Podiatry Board of Australia**

Professor Andrew Taggart Appointed as a community member for a period of 3 years

(first term) from 25 September 2020

All other current National Board appointments continue. Chair and members are listed on

the Board's website: <a href="https://www.podiatryboard.gov.au/">https://www.podiatryboard.gov.au/</a>

# **Psychology Board of Australia**

Professor Jennifer Scott Reappointed as a practitioner member from Tasmania for

a period of 3 years (third term) from 17 August 2020

All other current National Board appointments continue. Chair and members are listed on

the Board's website: <a href="https://www.psychologyboard.gov.au/">https://www.psychologyboard.gov.au/</a>