Agency Management Committee

Photo of Agency Management Committee.
From left to right: Mr Ian Smith PSM, Ms Jenny Taing, Dr Peggy Brown AO, Adjunct Professor Karen Crawshaw PSM, Ms Philippa Smith AM, Associate Professor Susan Young, Mr Michael Gorton AM (Chair), Ms Barbara Yeoh AM.

The Agency Management Committee is appointed by the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council in accordance with the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act as in force in each state and territory.

The Committee consists of 8 people including:

  • a Chair who is not a registered health practitioner and has not been a health practitioner in the last 5 years
  • at least 2 people with expertise in health and/or education and training
  • at least 2 people with business or administrative expertise who are not current or previous registered health practitioners  

The Agency Management Committee is chaired by Mr Michael Gorton AM.

Members of the Agency Management Committee make an annual disclosure of interests. Details of other Board appointments are included in the member profiles.

The Agency Management Committee meets up to 11 times per year. The Agency Management Committee publishes a communiqué of monthly meetings which summarises issues discussed and decisions made.

The Agency Management Committee has established three Committees:


Document name PDF Accessible format Document date
Agency Management Committee Charter PDF (205KB) Word version (578KB,DOCX) September 2017

Next Meeting of the Agency Management Committee

Details of meetings are listed in the Schedule of Meetings. If you require further information, please email

Page reviewed 23/07/2018