Member Profiles

Gill Callister

Ms Gill Callister PSM

Ms Gill Callister was appointed to the Agency Management Committee for a first term as new Chair and member with expertise in education and training on 04 July 2019. Ms Callister is CEO of Mind Australia, a community-based mental health organisation with a long tradition of working with people with serious mental illness. She has dedicated her career to improving public policy and service delivery, particularly for vulnerable people in the community, and was recognised with a Public Service Medal in 2019.

Most recently an Associate Dean and Vice President at the Australia and New Zealand School of Government ( ANZSOG) in 2019-20, Gill ran executive education programs in ethics and integrity, women’s leadership, and senior public sector leadership development. She also holds an adjunct Professor role at Monash University 

Prior to this Gill served as Secretary of two Victorian Government Departments over almost ten years from 2009 to the end of 2018 – The Department of Human Services and The Department of Education and Training. Her legacy is a strong reputation for person-centred reform in social policy and an active advocate for gender equality and women’s leadership.

This followed a range of senior roles in the Victorian Public Service and a ten-year stint in the community sector working with children, young people and families.

As well as being chair of the Agency Management Committee, Gill is a member of the Monash University Council, and a member of the Good Shepherd Australia and New Zealand Board.

Gill is the most recent past President of the Institute of Public Administration Australia (IPAA) (Victoria). Her leadership in public policy was recognised in 2013 when she was named in the Australian Financial Review’s 100 Women of Influence and received a Sir James Wolfensohn Public Service Scholarship to attend Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government. In October 2014, Gill was awarded the IPAA National Fellowship award and a Monash University Fellowship and in 2017 was named as one of the top 50 women in the Victorian public service.

Gill holds Bachelor degrees in Social Work (with Honours) and Arts.

Other appointments.

Photo of Karen Crawshaw

Adjunct Professor Karen Crawshaw PSM

Adjunct Professor Crawshaw is reappointed to the Agency Management Committee for a second term as a member with expertise in health business and administration no 04 July 2019. She was first appointed in September 2012. Adjunct Professor Crawshaw was admitted to the NSW Supreme Court in 1979 and subsequently to the High Court. Adjunct Professor Crawshaw was previously the Deputy Director-General with responsibility for the Division of Governance, Workforce and Corporate Services in the Ministry of Health, New South Wales (NSW). Her areas of accountability covered health workforce planning and industrial relations, business and asset services, communications, corporate governance, and legal and regulatory services.  Adjunct Professor Crawshaw left the Ministry of Health, New South Wales in June 2017. She is appointed as an Adjunct Professor with the University of Sydney Medical School and acts as an on-line moderator in the Safety and Quality of Health Care course for masters students in the university’s School of Public Health.  Adjunct Professor Crawshaw was awarded the Public Service Medal in 2012 for her significant contributions to the public sector.

Other appointments.

Picture of Jenny Taing.

Ms Jenny Taing OAM

Ms Taing is currently serving her second term as a member with expertise in business and administration from 15 June 2017. She is currently working as Special Counsel at Hive Legal. She was previously a board director of the Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital, the Royal District Nursing Service and Channel 31. Ms Taing has also previously served as a Commissioner at the Victorian Multicultural Commission. Ms Taing holds a Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Laws (Honours) from the University of Melbourne and was admitted to the Supreme Court of Victoria in 2008. She is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.  

Other appointments.

Picture of Barbara Yeoh.

Ms Barbara Yeoh AM

Ms Yeoh is currently serving her second term as a member with expertise in health, education and training from 15 June 2017. She is a Director of the Victorian State Emergency Service Authority and previously served on the Board of Monash Health, Austin Health and Eastern Health in Victoria. She has over 25 years’ experience across a range of public and private sector agencies including in the health, education, finance, insurance, transport, technology and infrastructure sectors. Ms Yeoh has previously served as a Council Member and Deputy Chancellor at Latrobe University.

Other appointments.

Dr Peggy Brown, Agency Management Committee

Dr Peggy Brown AO

Dr Brown was reappointed to the Agency Management Committee for a second term as a member with expertise in health, education and training on 04 July 2019. Dr Brown is a registered medical practitioner (psychiatrist) with over 30 years’ experience in the Australian health sector. She is a Senior Clinical Advisor to the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care.  She has held senior clinical and administrative positions in the health system including the position of Chief Executive Officer of the National Mental Health Commission and Director- General of ACT Health from 2010 until 2015.  Dr Brown is a former Chair of the Australian Health Ministers’ Advisory Council and is well versed with the operational, legislative and policy aspects of the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme for health professions including the work of National Boards and the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA).  Her extensive experience in the health sector also includes key roles with the psychiatry training program of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists.

Other appointments.

Dr Susan Young

Dr Susan Young

Dr Young is a registered nurse and midwife currently serving her first term with expertise in health, education and training, governance, regulation and accreditation from 14 June 2017. She was the Chair of the Queensland Board of the Medical Board of Australia until December 2016. She is a member of the National Injury Insurance Agency, Queensland.  She has fulfilled positions within the tertiary sector, with previous appointments as a Director of Teaching and Learning, and as a Program Director in the School of Nursing and Midwifery at The University of Queensland. Prior to her appointment within the tertiary sector, Dr Young has held a number of executive positions within the public and private health care sectors in metropolitan, regional and rural settings. She holds a Doctorate in Education from the Queensland University of Technology and an Adjunct Professorial appointment from The University of Queensland.

Other appointments.

Ms Philippa Smith

Ms Philippa Smith AM

Ms Smith is currently serving her first term as a member with business and administration, regulation and accreditation expertise from 15 June 2017. She was the Chair of the Board of Food Standards Australia New Zealand from 2008 to 2016. She has enjoyed an extensive and high-profile career in consumer advocacy. She was the first woman and nonlawyer to be appointed as Commonwealth Ombudsman from 1993 to 1998. She was also appointed as the CEO of the Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia. Ms Smith was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 1992 for service to the community particularly for the formulation of social welfare policies.

Other appointments.

Page reviewed 5/09/2019