

## (meeting as the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council)

### Communiqué

13 January 2015

# HEALTH MINISTERS ANNOUNCE APPOINTMENTS Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Board of Australia

The Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council (the Ministerial Council) is very pleased to announce new appointments and reappointments to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Board of Australia, regulating this health profession under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (the national scheme).

The vacancies arose as a result of the end of the inaugural terms for members appointed by the Ministerial Council in June 2011 to this National Board, and were advertised nationally.

The details of the statutory appointments made by the Ministerial Council are set out in the **attachment** to this communiqué. A vacancy arising for a practitioner member from South Australia will be advertised and Ministers encourage eligible practitioners to apply.

Ministers welcomed reappointed board members and thanked them for expressing their continued interest in, and commitment to, the work of the national board in regulating the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health practice profession under the national scheme and in the public interest.

A warm welcome was extended to new board members and Ministers wished them well over the coming years with their important regulatory roles.

Health Ministers also acknowledge the significant efforts of all inaugural members during their first term of appointment, in preparing for and them implementing regulation under the national scheme. In particular, Ministers wished to thank Mr Peter Pangquee for his dedication and contributions to the national scheme since 2011, as the inaugural National Board Chair and practitioner member from the Northern Territory.

Health Ministers are confident that these appointments strike the right balance between retaining expertise from experienced board members and bringing the perspectives and experience of new members to the ongoing functions of the board.

The Ministerial Council's appointments are made under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law, as in force in each state and territory and are consistent with the Australian Health Ministers' Advisory Council (AHMAC)-endorsed *National Board Member Succession Planning Principles*.

**Media contact:** COAG Health Council Secretariat – 08 8226 6191

## ATTACHMENT to Communiqué

Appointments made to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Board of Australia by resolution of the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law as in force in each state and territory on 10 October 2014.

#### Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Board of Australia

Lisa Penrith Reappointed as a practitioner member from New South Wales

(second term)

Bruce Davis Reappointed as a practitioner member from Queensland (second

term)

Jenny Poelina Reappointed as a practitioner member from Western Australia

(second term)

Renee Owen Reappointed as a practitioner member from Victoria (second term)

Linda Bunn Appointed as a practitioner member from the Northern Territory

(first term)

Karrina DeMasi Reappointed as a community member (second term)

Bruce Brown Appointed as a community member (first term)

Anita Phillips Appointed as a community member (first term)

Vacancy for a practitioner member from South Australia will be advertised.

All appointments and reappointments announced today are until close of business on 30 June 2017.