

Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council

APPOINTMENTS TO THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE OF THE NEW AUSTRALIAN HEALTH PRACTITIONER REGULATION AGENCY

Health Ministers, acting as the newly established Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council (the Council), have today announced appointments to the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency Management Committee.

The Council is pleased to advise that Royal Assent was granted by the Governor of Queensland on 25 November 2008 for the *Health Practitioner Regulation (Administrative Arrangements) National Law Act 2008*.

The new legislation establishes the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency Management Committee, which will commence operation in March 2009.

The Council is pleased to announce the following appointments to this important committee:

Mr Peter Allen (Chair) Mr Michael Gorton AM Professor Genevieve Gray Professor Constantine Michael AO Associate Professor Merrilyn Walton

Further information on committee members is at Attachment A.

The Council looks forward to the contribution these members will make to the operation of the new national arrangements.

Melbourne 5 March 2009

INFORMATION ON MEMBERS OF THE AGENCY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Mr Peter Allen

Peter Allen takes up the position of Deputy Dean of the Australia and New Zealand School of Government on 10 March 2009 following more than 20 years in the Victorian Public Service (VPS). Within the VPS he has been Under Secretary in the Department of Human Services; Victoria's Chief Drug Strategy Officer; Secretary of the Department of Tourism, Sport and the Commonwealth Games; Secretary of the Department of Education; Director of Schools; and Deputy Secretary, Community Services. Between 2001 and 2003 he was a Vice-Chancellor's Fellow at the University of Melbourne. Prior to joining the public service, Mr Allen was Director, Social Policy and Research at The Brotherhood of St Laurence.

Mr Allen is a Director of the Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine; National Vice President, and Victorian Vice-President of the Institute of Public Administration (Australia); and has previously been a member of the Councils of both the University of Melbourne and Deakin University. He was awarded a Centenary Medal in 2001. He has a BA and a Diploma in Journalism.

Mr Allen is appointed as Chair of the Agency Management Committee.

Mr Michael Gorton AM

Michael Gorton is a commercial lawyer with considerable experience providing legal advice on medical registration, training, education and administrative practice. As executive partner of Russell Kennedy, he has significant experience in business management and administration. He is Chair of the Victorian Equal Opportunity & Human Rights Commission and the Code of Conduct Committee of Medicines Australia, Deputy Chair of the Infertility Treatment Association, and a member of Melbourne Health. He has extensive experience in governance for a wide range of organisations including health and ethics committees.

In 2004, Mr Gorton received the Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for community service contribution to the UN Association, Greening Australia, aboriginal reconciliation and equal opportunity. Mr Gorton has a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Commerce.

Mr Gorton is appointed as a member with business and administrative expertise.

Professor Genevieve Gray

Professor Genevieve Gray is Professor of Nursing and Scholar in Residence at the Queensland University of Technology and Adjunct Professor at James Cook University. Recently she has been a Nurse Scholar for the World Health Organization, Geneva and worked in Canada as a Professor of Nursing for the University of Alberta and the World Health Organization.

Professor Gray is a member of the Multidisciplinary Board of the International Council of Women's Health Issues and was previously Chair, International Academic Nursing Alliance and member of the Deans Council, General Faculties Committee and Health Sciences Council of the University of Alberta. She has a General Nursing Certificate, Midwifery Certificate, diplomas in Nursing Education and Advanced Nursing Studies, and a Master of Science (Nursing).

Professor Gray is appointed as a member with expertise in health, or education and training or both.

Professor Constantine Michael AO

Professor Constantine Michael is Group Director, Medical Services for St John of God Health Care, and has a background in obstetrics and gynaecology in Western Australia and London as a practitioner and academic. Among numerous awards, Professor Michael was named an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in 2001 for service to medicine, particularly in the field of obstetrics and gynaecology, as a contributor to the administration of the profession nationally and internationally and medical education.

Professor Michael is currently President of the Medical Board of Western Australia, Deputy President of the Australian Medical Council and a member of various Australian Medical Association committees. He is Chair of the Ethics and Quality and the Risk Management committees at St John of God Health Care and a member of the Medical Advisory Committee at St John of God Hospital, Murdoch. At the University of Notre Dame, Western Australia, he is Chair of the Advisory Board of the School of Medicine. He is Chair of the Reproductive Technology Council and member of the beyondblue Perinatal Mental Health Consortium. He has a Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Science, Doctor of Medicine, Diploma of Diagnostic Ultrasound, and is a Fellow of the Royal College of Obstetrics and Gynaecology (London and Australia).

Professor Michael is appointed as a member with expertise in health, or education and training or both.

Associate Professor Merrilyn Walton

Associate Professor Merrilyn Walton is Associate Professor of Medical Education, Director Patient Safety Faculty of Medicine and Coordinator of the Combined Medicine Scholarship Program and Personal and Professional Development at the University of Sydney and Visiting Professor and Affiliate of the Buehler Center on Aging, Health and Society, Chicago, USA.

Associate Professor Walton is a member of the University of Sydney Academic Board, the NSW Institute for Medical Education and Training, and Chair of its Prevocational Council, and the IMET Ministerial Advisory Committee to the Minister for Health. Previously, she was the Commissioner for the Health Care Complaints Commission NSW. She has a Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Social Work, Masters of Social Work, and Doctor of Philosophy.

Associate Professor Walton is appointed as a member with business and administrative expertise.