Planned Maintenance Our banking partner will perform essential maintenance from 2:00am to 2.45am on Sunday 29/05/2016 (AEST) and from 2.00am to 2:45am on Monday 30/05/2016 (AEST). AHPRA's account services, registration renewal for health practitioners, online graduate applications, financial transactions and other online services will be unavailable during this time. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency

Community Reference Group Members

The Community Reference Group consists of members from the community who are not registered health practitioners. 

Mark Bodycoat

Chair, Community Reference Group

Mr Bodycoat studied arts and law at the University of Western Australia, and has worked as a solicitor in private and government practice. From 1996 to 1998 he was Acting Commissioner for Consumer Affairs in Western Australia. From 2000 to 2007 he was South Australia’s Commissioner for Consumer Affairs, and was Public Trustee in South Australia from 2007 until 2010.

He holds the degrees of Bachelor of Jurisprudence (B. Juris), Bachelor of Laws (LLB) and Bachelor of Arts (BA) and is also a trained mediator. Mark is a current community member of the Medical Board of Australia and the South Australian Board of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. He is also a former community member of the Podiatry Board of Australia and the South Australian Board of the Medical Board of Australia.  

Melissa Cadzow

Ms Cadzow enjoys serving on South Australian and national boards in the areas of business, information technology and health. She was the carer for her father with cancer and is the parent of two young children. She has over 25 years of business experience with her IT company. Melissa is currently serving on the Australian Broadcasting Corporation Advisory Council, Australian Community Pharmacy Authority, Women’s and Children’s Health Network Governing Council, Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency Community Reference Group and Cadzow TECH Pty. Ltd. She previously served on the Royal Adelaide Hospital Consumer Advisory Group, CALHN Consumer Advisory Council, Statewide Clinical Network Lung Cancer Pathway Working Party, WCHN Consumer Advisory Committee, State Government Business and Parliament Trust, Adelaide Metropolitan Area Consultative Committee Inc. and the State Government Small Business Development Council. 

Darlene Cox

Ms Cox has been a member of Health Care Consumers Association since 1996. She is an eminent advocate for health consumers with an excellent knowledge of the health system, both locally and nationally. Ms Cox has a strong, practical understanding of community engagement principles, clinical governance and health literacy. She has been the Executive Director of Health Care Consumers’ Association Incorporated since 2008. She is a member of the ACOSS Board and is also a member of the Specialist Education Accreditation Committee with the Australian Medical Council.

Jacqui Gibson-Roos

Ms Gibson is passionately committed to developing greater transparency for governance within the healthcare system and retaining a system that is inclusive of all Australians. She has a strong interest in self-management and consumer participation, having worked on a number of programs involving developing strategies to integrate consumer participation into community health programs. Furthermore, she is an active consumer who has been involved in a number of boards and committees as a member, chair and co-chair, including Inner South Community Health Service Community Participation Committee, Prahran Mission Board, Chair of Leadership Plus Board and Southern Metropolitan Mental Health Council. Jacqui is a judge of the Victorian Public Healthcare Awards 2013.

Jen Morris

Ms Morris is a human rights and disability advocate and freelance writer. She is a member of the Mercy Health Community Advisory Committee, and is on the board of management of the Disability Discrimination Legal Service. She has represented consumer and patient perspectives at a variety of forums, including the Medical Board of Australia forum on Medical Revalidation. Ms Morris has also attended and/or presented at Consumers Health Forum and Health Issues Centre workshops on topics ranging from informed financial consent to quality use of medicines.  

Sophy Athan


Kate Griggs


Patricia Hall


John McGurk


Colleen Papadopoulos


Donald Sword

Page reviewed 12/05/2016